We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bug heaven” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bug heaven”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

my husband and I checked into this hotel last week late at night and were glad of a place to stay. We unloaded our things and were relaxing a bit on the bed. I noticed a dead earwig under the bedspread and when I investigated further discovered bugs under the covers as well. Needless to say we packed up super quickly and checked out. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone....it is dirty and in disrepair. Quality Inn should be ashamed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry you had an issue with bugs in your room. We have regular weekly pest service, and never had a problem with bugs before. We hope you might come back and see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    15
    8
    22
See reviews for
32
22
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The following did not work: door lock (dead battery), shower (stuck on way hot), phone, WiFi, toilet (clogged and had bugs in it).
The pool was filthy, the jacuzzi was filthy and cold and not working.
We had to move rooms once, almost twice.
They kept running out of food and utensils at breakfast.
STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: The WiFi does not work in the Excutive Suites building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I do have to apologize for not exceeding your expatiations. I have brought your complaints to my staff’s attention, and we are working to resolve some of your issues. I do apologize again and hope you might give us another chance in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We and some friends were in town recently for the Harley Davidson California State Rally. This hotel was one of our choices and we booked it before it changed from Best Western. First of all, it was very hot and the air conditioning was off. In fact, in the suite we had, the only air conditioning we had was a fan. Second, our key did not work. We had it rekeyed, and it worked once and then did not work again. In fact, the master key did not work and the new night clerk ( he had only been there one week) had to get a handyman to break into our room so that we could get our things and move to another room. Ice machine was out in our building. Laundry facilities were out of order and the spa didn't work (was cold). As you can see, most of the amenities that were advertized were not available. Since it was late, we decided it was too difficult to leave that night but cancelled our second night. Morning breakfast was awful. Rubbery hard boiled eggs and frozen egg patties..who does that? We complained to the day manager and we did get a full refund. They have a lot of work to do before we would ever go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I do have to apologize for the inconvenience that was cause during your stay. I am glad you notified us at check out so we were able to refund your stay. Are commitment to your satisfaction is very important. I do hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was there on family trip. when I checked in clerk was friendly. They treated me as a regular when it was only my first time there.Room was clean. Alejandra, I think her name sure was one of the Executive Housemaid was very helpful, I definitely like to thank for awesome job. Room was very clean. Great staff. Very friendly. Will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisamagana, Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It s not often that the housekeeping department is recognized for their hard work. I will let Alejandra know how much you appreciated her help. Once again thank for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having stayed at the Best Western Expo Inn for years, I was a little hesitant to reserve when I heard that the hotel had changed to Quality Inn & Suites one week before our arrival. But we took a chance and were glad we did.
We were pleased to find that they still offered a shuttle service from the Amtrak Depot on I Street. The van arrived promptly within minutes of our train arrival and Clyde was the most amicable driver. When we were ready to leave the next day, Clyde arrived 20 minutes early for us. Yes there is a $15 fee but believe me, it would have been much more if we had taken a cab. The shuttle will also take you to the State Fair and other big events at the Expo Fairgrounds as well.
Our $79 first-floor room facing the pool was perfect - spacious clean bedroom area and bath, comfy bed, nice kitchen area with a FULL-size refrigerator, lots of counter space, a sink and microwave, eating table and two chairs. We enjoyed having a room so close to the pool. Complimentary hot breakfast had quite a variety and plenty of seating in the lobby to relax. The staff at the front desk were courteous at all times. What more could you ask for.
Only two slight inconveneinces: the slow Internet service with the lobby computer. Also, some of the pool lounge chairs were solid wood with no seat cushions. Not too comfortable for lounging very long. But all in all, I would recommend staying at this convenient location - so many restaurants within walking distance to dine at - Red Lobster, Outback, Buca di Beppo, and a small shopping mall at the corner of Howe and Arden.

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor to avoid footsteps above you (which we did not mind but some people might)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisamagana, Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your service. I do have to agree with you about the wooden pool chairs. That is why we have replaced them with lounge chairs that are a lot more comfortable. On behalf of are entire staff we would like to thank you again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

After spending a few days in Anahein at a lower quality hotel, we were pleasantl surprised with the Best Wesern which has recently been changed to Quality Inn. It was cheaper and much nicer than our previous stay and the continental breakfast was awesome. I do wish they had an icebox and microwve in the room though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmagana3, Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have microwaves and refrigerator in most rooms. When booking your next reservation please inform us or your need for them, and we will gladly assign you a room with a microwave refrigerator. We all hope to see you again soon, and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
2.8 mi away
Ramada Sacramento
Ramada Sacramento
#48 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#13 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Arden Way
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo

Property: Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo
Address: 1413 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825-3203 (Formerly Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from bustling downtown Sacramento, CA, the Lexington Inn and Suites Sacramento Cal Expo boasts an array of modern amenities, a multi-lingual staff, and big city hospitality. Key local attractions include the California Expo Center, Raging Waters Sacramento, and California State University. Sacramento International Airport is conveniently less than 16 miles away. Our Sacramento hotel is the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Our entirely smoke-free property offers many amenities, including a year round outdoor pool and jacuzzi where guests can relax after a day of sightseeing. Maintain your exercise routine while on the road in our on-site fitness center. Visitors in town for business will be sure to take advantage of our on-site meeting facilities, featuring free Wi-Fi in all meeting rooms. Our staff will work with you to ensure your meeting or event runs smoothly down to the last detail. Each of the 120 guest rooms features thoughtful amenities like complimentary Wi-Fi, flat panel cable television, ESPN, and HBO. Our deluxe rooms and one bedroom suites also include extras such as microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and separate sitting area with table and chairs. All guest rooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in the daily rate. An easily accessible location, competitive rates, exceptional customer service, and attention to detail make the Lexington Inn and Suites Sacramento Cal Expo the perfect choice when visiting the California state capital. Join our family at Lexington Inn and Suites Sacramento Cal Expo - you deserve it! Our Guests Come First SM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Expo Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing