We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old Town Sacramento on the River” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Delta King
Ranked #20 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Town Sacramento on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

This accomadations were excellent. Breakfast was good and included in the price. The rooms are somewhat small, which one should expect given that this is a riverboat converted to a hotel, but comfortable and maintained. Valet parking was $18/day and was 100' from the hotel entrance. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant. The bar and restaurant were great. The one item they is missing is "nice" seating on the deck. They currently have some "cheapo" metal tables and chairs sparsely scattered on the decks - It would enhance the "atmo" a great deal if they had some quality deck furniture to sit at or lounge on while looking out @ the river or old town Sacramento (cushions would be nice too). Other than the deck issue, all was enjoyable and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIMBRAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    198
    62
    19
    28
See reviews for
58
269
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

The restaurant is excellent with a very talented & artistic chef hidden in there. Greatest meal I have had in a very, very long time. It was unforgettable. My husband & I went to dine for no reason (07/07/10) & completely were convinced that we have found a gem in Sacramento. Even with bad economic times, Delta King has not compromised superior star quality. Please visit & spend your evening with the wonderful staff....and leave enchanted!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prions12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

I went with my parents, aunt, uncle and cousin and we all stayed at this hotel whilst travelling around California by car. We all loved the location of the hotel and the fact that the old part of the city was close by. We didn't eat at the restaurant on the boat as there were a lot of restaurants close by to choose from which were lovely.

There was no problem with the car as it was taken care of by the staff and was waiting for us when we checked out after two nights. The hotel did have a certain charm to it and was unlike anything we have seen or stayed at before.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren86Canterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed on the Delta King during our recent trip. The staff is excellent, and the boat is nice, but the room prices are just too much money. By the time you add the expensive valet parking to the price of the room, this is a stay that will only be reserved for special occasions in our future. (We paid less for nice hotels right on the Ocean!) The rooms are quaint and clean, but very small. It's nice to watch the occasional boat go by, but Old Sac was disappointing; if you walk further down the Capitol Mall, you find better restaurants (Il Fornaio, Ruth Chris). Downtown Sac has beautiful trees and flowers, so be sure to take some long walks while staying there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

This last weekend was our annual trip to Sacramento from our home in Reno, NV. This was our 7th year staying at the Delta King. We keep going back simply because it is a great place to stay, close to everything in the Old Sacramento complex, the rooms are great, clean and well maintained, the staff is above exceptional. If you enjoy nostalgia, you can't go wrong, and an evening in the Delta Lounge with the Gordon Groft Trio will leave you wanting more, if you are on a tight budget, well, it is a $$$$ location but you will get what you pay for and if you are there for a weekend, the Sunday brunch will be a grand climax to your stay. We book our next years reservation when we check out, we are that satisfied with our stay, in 7 years we have yet to be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

This is a gem not to be missed. It's got history, ambiance, fabulous food, a perfect bar, tremendous location, views to die for - and Americana. The staff is extremely accommodating and ever so helpful.. The location is incredible. If you are into "people watching" ,this is the place to be. And if you are in town on a Thursday night, they have only Irish music - the REAL thing - in the bar. give this one a try. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjepson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

My wife and I had our rehearsal dinner at the Delta King and our guests are still raving about it. We were able to have a private room with an amazing view of the city, and of the river; and the food was superb. Our guests had their every need taken care of, and it was so convenient that we and our guests could stay there for the night as well. It was such a great place to stay for our friends and family that were visiting Sacramento for the first time. Definitely would recommend the Delta King for special events and romantic dinners at the Pilothouse restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sacweimlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Property: Delta King
Address: 1000 Front St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3231
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing