We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience”
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta King
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2006

We decided to include Sacramento on our tour after I saw this hotel on the internet and had to stay there! We had a great time. We arrived early on a busy Sunday afternoon, we did have a bit of trouble finding the valet parking, but that was soon sorted, and the front desk staff were lovely, booking us in even though the room wasn't ready and taking our bags while we went out to explore the area. They put us in a large room on the top floor with a river view and it is definitely worth paying the extra for the river view. We had a drink in the bar and the staff and surroundings were great. Breakfast could have been a little more varied. Well worth the detour!

  • Liked — The whole atmosphere of it being an old riverboat
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ManxKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    206
    68
    20
    29
See reviews for
64
282
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Had a very nice stay recently on business. Service is great. I had a little difficulty with one of the lamps. Almost after hanging up the phone, the manager knocked on my door to come provide assistance. Room decor is just as you would expect from a historic hotel. Very quaint furniture and amenities.

We had a warm day. Not the 110 degrees like the week before, but high 90's. The air conditioner was on full blast, but it provided marginal air conditioning. There was a fan in the room that made for a comfortable evening.

We had dinner catered through the meeting. Filet mignon was overcooked and almost well done and tough. Breakfast and lunch was very good.

Parking in Old Sacramento can be a challenge. The hotel does provide valet parking only. There is no self-parking available. On our departure date, there was only one valet on duty. Made for some long waits to get a car back.

Be aware that the shower stall can be a challenge. It is quite small. It is a fixed shower head with nowhere to move. One of our people in our party hadn't intended on shampooing, but could not avoid getting her hair wet. No shower caps were provided. If you are tall, you will need to crouch down to get wet. Again, this is a historic hotel that was formerly a paddleboat. Don't go expecting modern amenities. If you keep that in mind, the Delta King is a very nice hotel.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank swirlinabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We stayed here for 1 night. It was a very hot day when we arrived, around 94f I think. We had a wander around Sacramento had something to eat then headed back to the Delta King. I found the rooms very small, stuffy and claustrophobic. The only air conditioning came from a small bedside fan, which giving the tempature outside weren't really up to the job. It was somewhat of a novelty staying on the boat but it just wasn't for us. The breakfast the next morning was lovely with plenty on offer.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2006

The rooms are pretty small, but you couldn't ask for too much more from a room on a historical boat. The bathroom was a bit less than half the size of the actual room, so it was fairly big in that respect. Some rooms offer tubs, but they arent as big as you'd think. They're a bit bigger than the tub you'd have in any standard home. The only way to get ice was to get it from the very busy lounge/bar/restaurant, so make sure you get dressed before you go for some. If you're not from sacramento, you should know that during the summer the temperature can hit triple digits regularly, and from the time we walked in, we felt no change from the outside temperature to that of the room's. And to our surprise, the AC was already on "full blast". Just for kicks, and with wishful thinking, we turned the AC to low hoping the room would possibly get cooler. No luck. We asked the front desk about the AC, in hopes of getting some sort of tip on how to work the controls, and were told that they had been having issues with the AC in that particular room (531), and they offered to transfer us to another room, but seeing that it was late (11pm), we decided it wasn't worth the hassle. However, the room did get substantially cooler by early morning. Even though it was 11pm, the front desk was willing and did go out of their way to accomidate us by providing ice cold drinks at no extra charge. The evening view of the lit up bridge was also second to none. If at all possible, book a room with a good view of the bridge. You'll surely get your money's worth. If not, you can still walk around the deck and enjoy the view from either floor of the boat. It is easily one of the best views in all of sacramento.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2006

It was a fun experience to stay on the riverboat. The kids enjoyed the novelty of it, but the room was very small. Staff were very helpful.

If you like old/ classic cars, do not miss the Classic Car museum here. We had valet parked our car at the hotel, so the Car Museum sent a car to pick us up. (Usually they send an old yellow taxi but it was off the road). Children enjoyed learning the history of the motor car while Dad just loved the cars.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

I've stayed at the Delta King a number of times, and it has usually been a pleasant stay. This time, however, was quite different. I was traveling with my daughter, and we were given a room on the city side of the boat, above a large landing platform that seems to host a number of weddings.

We had a nice dinner, sat on the deck watching boats go by until dark, then retired to our room for an early evening. At 9:23 (I know because I looked at the clock in shock when it happened) a very LOUD DJ began to play music on the landing platform. I called the desk and learned the music would continue until 10:30. The music was so loud we couldn't hear the television, even with it turned all the way up. It was something like trying to sleep in the back of a bar. We couldn't read or sleep, either, all we could really do was sit there and listen to the dance.

At 10:30, after having been treated to more than an hour of Prince, Cindy Lauper, Huey Lewis, The Commodores, The Police and Sting, we expected the music to stop. When it didn't, I called the desk again, and the desk clerk told me I was not the only angry guest, and that she was going to contact the manager to have the party shut down. She called back shortly afterward to say the manager said the group (Dixon High School Class of 1996, to be exact) had a contract to continue until 11 p.m., and would not be stopping a minute earlier. So, we were treated to another 25 minutes of Bon Jovi, Springsteen and some more Prince.

When we checked out the next morning I told the desk clerk our experience was unpleasant and she told me I should have had the desk contact the manager on duty. She also told me that having the outside music past 10 p.m. violates the City of Sacramento's noice ordinance. None of that undid the very uncomfortable evening we spent at the hotel.

I contacted management by email and never received a reply. My advice would be to make sure there are no loud special events going on when you plan to be there, since event guests evidently take priority over hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mgg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights at the Delta King on June 14-15, 2006. the location can not be beat, as it is in the heart of Old Sacramento and there is plenty to do there. Our room was larger than average, with an old claw-foot bathtub!

Reading some of the other reviews, I will say that the staircases are narrow. there are disclaimer signs posted everywhere saying that this is an old ship and there might be wet floors, etc. SO...make sure you are able-bodied and don't have a ton of luggage!

The parking valet service was fantastic, but there is practically NO service in the hotel itself.

The girl who did the evening turn-down service arrived at 6pm and we were not ready for her to come in, so she said "I'm getting off work in a couple minutes, here, just take the chocolates". That was not very cool, but oh well.

The front desk was more than helpful.

We did not eat in the Pilot House restaurant. it is pricey and there are many other great places to eat in Old Sacramento (California Fat's is not to be missed!).
Continental breakfast was average (aren't they always?)

We really loved Old Sacramento and felt very special staying on the Delta King. everybody knows what it is since it is highly visible on the river.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Merlekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Property: Delta King
Address: 1000 Front St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3231
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing