We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Interesting place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delta King
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

One of the most interesting places we have stayed & kinda takes one back in time with a look at how the late part of the 1800's lived. This is a top notch place with a great staff that does a great job. The food is good with a fairly good choice of menu. We are sure glad we didn't listen to the reviews of how small the rooms are because it just isn't true. We found them to be well appointed & quite large for being a boat. Location can not be beat & the breakfast is outstanding.

Room Tip: Stayed in 526. Its on the water side, top deck. It was a great choice as it is quieter than the dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    193
    61
    19
    26
See reviews for
57
260
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a unique place to stay. It also had a great location. However, do not get room 422 (this is on the river side, but has one window that faces the stairs). We are also 2 floors above the Paddlewheel Room, and our room is shaking due to the disc jockey and his music- we are wondering just when the music will stop- we are not amused! It is not even a weekend, which we might understand. (I can't imagine how loud it must be if we were in room 322!). We did enjoy sitting out on the deck at a table which was just outside our room this evening.
They advertise that the Vallet parking is $18, but the guy who parked our car said it is $22. If you are looking for something different and unique, this is the place to stay, but, due to the very loud music, we would not return- it is not worth the extra $$$.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Small but serviceable room, directly opposite reception. River view. 97 degree days ( 41 ) so very happy for the efficient air-conditioning. Comfortable double bed, tiny bathroom. A little noisy with levels above and below you and people walking past outside on the deck, but so worth these little issues for the joy of staying on a restored paddle-steamer! How cool! Great bar and lots of spots to sit outside and watch the river traffic flow by...
Perfect location in the heart of Old Sac ( so endless dining and drinking and shopping options ). Also a leisurely stroll to The Petersen Automobile Museum and the wonderful Crocker Art Museum. We decided it was easier to pay the $22 valet parking rate per night than risk a fine parking in the surrounding streets ( ever present parking inspectors and strict $2 for 2 hours enforced )

Room Tip: River view is better than facing the dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided on the delta king for a spur of the moment anniversary getaway. We were not disappointed. Previous reviewer in June indicated so many problems that we did not encounter. Problems should be addressed to staff and not complained about in a review. That being said, we were thoroughly happy with our room. This is a charming place to stay. Of course there may be challenges due to space, but that's part if the fun staying here. My husbanb had to duck a time or two, he's 6'5. But so what? Our room was on the street side and was actually very quiet. The bathroom had an old-fashioned pull chain toilet and pedestal sink. Shower a bit small. Floor could have been a bit cleaner. We booked our trip on Travelocity which gave us a better deal than the king itself. Included was a cooked to order breakfast which was very good. The waiter was phenomenal. Just wished I remembered his name so I could mention it here. All in all, u can't lose by staying here. It is right in old sac so it's the closest hotel so u have no need to get the car out of the parking garage

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karero99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Delta King was very close to Old Sacramento and within easy walking distance to all attractions. Unfortunately these are the only positive comments that can be made.

The experience in staying on the Delta King was not a pleasant one. This establishment may well be displaying original and authentic decor et.al. but it does not mean that it cannot be kept clean. The smell of the room was most unpleasant, the air was stale and the state of the room indicated that it had not been cleaned to a satisfactory standard for quite some time indeed the mattress must have been the original from 1927 and made for a most unsatisfactory nights sleep. The bathroom shower cubicle was not clean and in need of a good scrub to get rid of the mould this also applies to the shower door and sink. Having a bathroom door that closed properly would have also be an added advantage.

Breakfast was at best mediocre.

Room Tip: Find another establishment to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Kind of a tricky review for me here.So let me say about myself. Priority's.Clean is number one with me.People,Employees important..Food if eating there good.Location also. Delta King clean. Employees nice. Food good. Again this is a bit of history so rooms small it is a riverboat from the 30's.Love that fact.we get a travel zoo deal each year .It includes a bottle of wine , breakfast an a water view. Great restaurant there so we have dinner.I think Thursday night they have a small band in bar. Summary we get travel zoo deal hit the bar for music have nice dinner enjoy view of river . Day and Night an get up early an walk across the bridge to a walking trail all around a park an river side. There is also old town, Railroad Museum. Tip Good fish an chip place<take out , small> right out front of the Delta King right side coming out Hotel.I am a positive person so on my reviews i always try an lean that way.BUT, Delta King needs to get the rooms available earlier. I mean by 3:00 at the worst. I have waited for a room till 5;00 before. Also they charge for parking. not sure on price but not cheap.A lot of reviews will not be as nice as me on review because of.the late check in an parking. If your into staying in a bit of history ,Get the deal. Leave your bags at the desk an go see the sites. Also across the bridge is the Saber Cats AAA baseball team. Also local bus can take you to state capital an back if you want to see how they waste your tax dollars ! Sorry i am really a positive person

Room Tip: All rooms small Staying on a river boat. Do like View room but all the same beside that point.Get tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bynner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

perfect positioned close to Old Sacramento, all attractions in walking distance. Very romantic place! Valet parking available, you won't need the car while you stay there. Room atmosphere brings you back to early 20th century.

Room Tip: rooms to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_M1958_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Property: Delta King
Address: 1000 Front St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3231
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing