We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of the Nostalgic”
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta King
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
568 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“A Bit of the Nostalgic”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a fun place and found it on the Delta King. The cabins are small but well furnished. The shower was a bit cramped but we understood that even thou the Delta King doesn't sail that it is still an old Riverboat. The cabin had a nice TV, Air Conditioning and free WiFi. The breakfast was in the Pilothouse which was the main restaurant. Talk about a feeling of Nostalgic - this is a perfect setting. The dinner here was a bit expensive and fell flat. We did have dinner in the more casual Delta Bar and Grill and this we felt was more fun and a better value for the Bar Food. The Irish music on Thursday night was perfect. Since we live just an hour away we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    206
    68
    20
    29
See reviews for
64
282
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, Nevada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Used a travelzoo coupon to book this "hotel" at a reasonable price. It was a lot of fun. This is truly just a riverboat; parked at a pier in Old Sacramento. The railroad museum next door and access to the American river trail real easy. Bike can be rented.

The "balcony" is really just an outside deck where chairs and tables are available just outside you room/"cabin".

Breakfast on board (included with the travelzoo offer) was good. Not interesting, not great, just good. Well done eggs, decent fried potatoes, ordinary meats, and a decent muffin. Have coffee in your room before going to breakfast - as with many restaurants they think that offering a bottomless cup of lousy coffee is better than having one good cup. They do give you a nice arabica coffee and pot in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great location for tourists. It's right in Old Sacramento, practically next door to the Railroad Museum and just a short walk to the Crocker Museum. On board rooms were on the small side, but very clean and quiet. Very friendly staff. On site restaurant was very good for dinner. Many other dining choices are close by, I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willinnevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you are visiting Old Town Sacramento, you cannot find a better location than this. Old Town is literally outside the door. The rooms are small and cozy - remember this is an old paddle boat. They have a really nice restaurant and a nice bar area with music on weekends. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is really terrific. You will be eating in an upscale place with great service. There is outdoor areas as well to enjoy. Although the price is high, the convenience is probably worth it. Just a few notes you should be aware of: Valet parking is $22 and there really is not much choice. The valet does a great job. There is a $13 additional charge for more than one person in the room for breakfast. Your room rate includes only one breakfast. It is worth it though. Old Town Sac has really improved since the last time I was here. It is very family and adult friendly and much safer than the past. The railroad museum is a must. If you have time, the auto museum is very impressive - takes 2-3 hours for $8.

Room Tip: Pick riverside if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonefishing85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Surprised my hubby with a getaway on the Delta King, and paid extra to upgrade to the Deluxe River View Room after reading how small the staterooms were. Worth the extra $12 to have room to stretch our legs! Room was clean and plenty large, with slightly slanted floors (we were expecting this!) and we had a great view of the paddle and the Tower Bridge over the river. Had some loud strangers outside our windows at 10:15pm, enjoying the view too, but they didn't stay long. Bathroom was also good sized, and the showerhead was very nice.

We also purchased the "River Romance" package, which included dinner in the onboard Pilothouse Restaurant, tickets to nearby comedy club Laughs Unlimited, and breakfast too. Delicious food and great times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kslaboch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
412 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Interesting and unique. The front desk was efficient and helpful. Forgot my toothbrush and they provided one. We had a nice room even though the floor was quite sloped. Rooms were reasonably quiet. Probably worth the upgraded dollars to get a deluxe outside room as we did as we also did tons of shopping in Old Sac and if the room was any smaller we woud have had not place to pile the packages. As it was there was an armoire, 2 casula chairs, a desk and another chair with plenty of floor space. We never could get the TV to work though. Since this is the only place to stay in Old Sac, it got an extra star. Our intention on this trip was to only visit Old Sac so this was the obvious choice. Had after dinner time in the grill with music and it was a good time. If Old Sac was my destination again, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Outside deluxe room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The charming Delta King Hotel is a refurbished riverboat permanently docked in Old Sacramento, CA. Staying on this beautiful old boat is like stepping back in time to the 1920s or like stumbling into an Agatha Christie mystery. The rooms are small but beautifully appointed with very comfortable beds and killer showers. The staff is very approachable and friendly, and the food is great in both restaurants. And the bar is classic. It's a wonderful getaway for anyone from the Bay Area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Property: Delta King
Address: 1000 Front St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3231
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing