We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Delta King
Nearby Hotels
$123
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Sacramento(Sacramento)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$204
$189
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
204
230
74
21
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
230
74
21
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallthe rivertop deckpilothouse restaurantold sacramentofloating hotelthe pilot houseunique place to stayboat hotelpaddle wheel boatvalet parkingbreakfast was includedrailroad museumsan franciscoriver view roomstandard hotelnext morning
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 561 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here one night after making reservations online. Unable to secure a river view room so settled for city view side of the boat.
Check in was slow as both clerks took several phone calls while we waited for someone to help us. Once started got checked in fast. One lesson learned...there are four levels to this ship, with the office being on second level. There is a walkway onto the ship from shore into office. After check in had to manhandle our luggage up a narrow flight of stairs to our cabin as there is no elevator if you have cabin on lower or upper levels. Same issue next day when we left getting our luggage down the narrow stairways.
Room was small, but OK, it is a ships cabin after all. Nice amenities and seemed clean.
Bathroom is compact, with an old watercloset tank above toilet that was very loud each time it was flushed. Shower was small but there was plenty of hot water and no such thing as low flow shower head, which we liked.
Bed was queen and adequate, but VERY loud and squeaky each time we entered/exited which I couldnt understand. Able to hear neighbors each time they moved in their beds.
We found the room stuffy and that the windows in the cabin are not capable of being opened. We tried the thermostat controls in our room but could never get the temperature where we were comfortable. Once we got to sleep we did OK.
Had dinner at the on board restaurant (Delta Bar & Grill) which was nice; not many patrons inside and service was adequate, although strange, My girlfried and I were seated at a table for two, with tableware for two. Waiter came over to take our drink order and took my silverware/napkin when he left. When he returned with our drinks and took our food order I asked if he could bring me silverware and a napkin, and he said he would. Never did bring it, so I obtained some from an adjacent table on my own. Strange. But noticed he had time to "smoke and joke" with his coworkers however.
Dinner was good and moderately priced.
Was provided a breakfast voucher for free on board breakfast at check in, at the dining room on board. Was seated promptly and servife was good. Food was ample and tasty, good coffee.
Not sure if room on river side would have been worth the extra cost as amenities appear to be the same. If you're looking for a different and historic type of place to stay the Delta King will fill your needs. But never forget, it is a 100 year old river boat, not a five star newer hotel.
Not sure I would come back with so many other choices in the adjacent downtown Sacramento area that offier just as much for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hook026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Dracula Vs the Wolfman on the Delta King put on by Sacra-Melo=HILARIOUS, great night out! This comedy group puts on a great show. Theater is older and small, but that adds to part of the fun of the evening. Coupons available online for discounts on shows. Be aware there are a lot of stairs, I think there were elevators too, if you take the stairs it's a lot of walking (I only mention it because I was on a sore knee).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelingbl0nde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed on the Delta King for the last two nights of a huge California/Nevada road-trip as the website showed a lovely old paddle-steamer morphed into a floating hotel.

The price for the two nights was a little high ($212 + tax for the Saturday night and $182 + tax for the Sunday) in our opinion, but we'd had a wonderful holiday and wanted to spend our last two nights in style, which the DK has plenty of.

Our arrival (after a long, hot drive from Yosemite) saw us hit Old Town Sacramento late on the Saturday. We'd heard about the chronic lack of public parking and were determined to ensure we got the valet's attention when we got there. We found the entrance to the ship (up on a wooden boardwalk) and drove towards it through the mass of people. It was at that point the valets spontaneously disappeared and left us sat there with tourists swarming around the car complaining about us blocking the boardwalk. Eventually one re-appeared and took the keys after helping us unload our many bags. Not the most relaxing arrival, but we were happy to get out of the car and check in.

Check in was handled by a very helpful and friendly chap whose name I forget, but he explained everything and helped us with our bags to our room on the mid-deck. Our room was a corner room at the rear of the ship on the river side. As you might expect with a ship of this age, the decor was old and a little tatty, but clean and comfortable. The room sloped at quite an angle which added to the quirkiness and character and the bathroom was very small, although the shower was extremely powerful, which we did not expect. The aircon was barely noticeable, no matter how much we fiddled with the controls, but found that if you keep it on with the windows and door closed, it did cool down eventually.

The general areas (restaurant, bar and reception) were well-maintained and quite plush and our stay included breakfast both days, which was excellent. We paid for dinner the last night and were one of only two couples in the restaurant served by a waiter who did and said all the right things, but managed to do so while giving the impression that we were not good enough to be eating there. You know when someone does everything by the book but you get this feeling you can't put your finger on that the person objects to something about you? French waiters are the world's best at this in my opinion. Not enough to mention at the time, but noticeable to both of us. Anyway, we ate up and dutifully tipped him the standard 15% and retired to our room.

Which brings us to my biggest downer on our stay at the Delta King. I appreciate that the ship is a beautiful craft and people want photos OF it and FROM it, but we were told quite categorically that guest areas were off limits to day visitors using the bar and restaurant and people just wandering in off the street. And in fact there are plenty of signs stating things like "Restricted - hotel guests only" etc. However, on our first night, we sat outside our cabin having a quiet drink and enjoying the night air and had to endure the antisocial activities of several partygoers above us on the top deck, which included among other things, throwing bottles over our heads into the river below, smoking and groping each other six feet above us. Other times we could barely get into our room for the number of people crowded around outside it loudly taking photos from the natural vantage point. There seems to be little the staff is willing to do to prevent non-guests using guest-areas and to be prevented from using the table and chairs outside our room by people who haven't even paid to be ON the ship was a little annoying.

Having said that, to a certain extent, we found it hard to blame the staff too much, as usually there were only one or two of them on reception and many more people in places they shouldn't have been, so they would have to have someone working full time to keep people away. A simple matter of logistics, I guess.

Old Sac was a quaint place and early Sunday morning is a great time to wander around and explore. The riverside restaurants were good, but got very busy at lunchtimes and evenings.

Room Tip: River view rooms have better views, but get very hot during the day.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentish-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband & I stayed overnight in a standard river view room for our 28th anniversary through a travelzoo promotion.The room was extremely small but it wasn't a big problem for us because we were only going to be there for one night. (There are larger sized rooms available if you need more space.) We used vallet to park our car ($18) and spent the day wondering through old town Sacramento. Lots of shops to browse through and places to eat.

Our package included a "wine pairing" for 2, so we sat at an outside table & enjoyed the view. While we were there, a young man serenaded and proposed to his girlfriend. Breakfast was also included and it was delicious. The railroad museum was interesting and not too expensive at $10.

Just a couple small things to be aware of: the windows in the room are covered with blinds, right next to the bed and everyone walking by can see in somewhat even when they are closed (we covered our with a couple towels). Also, the beds squeek and we could hear our neighbors "squeeking" during the night.

The staff was friendly and provided great service. We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room if you need more space.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on2teaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent a night on the Delta King and it was one of the most unique hotels we have ever stayed in. We were on the dockside and being on the river side would have been so much better, but still this was a pretty good experience. The rooms and bathroom are a bit small but considering you are on an old paddle wheel boat they were a nice size. The rooms do slant to the outside, reminding you that you are on a boat. The shower had the highest water pressure of any shower i have ever been in, actually had to turn it down some so it wouldn't hurt. Beats the trickle of water you get at some hotels. The queen bed was comfortable and really have no complaints about the room. They provide a pretty decent free breakfast in the restaurant and if you prefer to order something different from the menu it is only $5. My wife got the gluten-free pancakes which was one of the reasons we stayed there in the first place. We got drinks in the bar and went and sat out on the deck and watched the sun set over the river. Absolutely great time aboard the Delta King.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews