We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best time aboard the old paddle boat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta King

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Delta King
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best time aboard the old paddle boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Great time was had by all without ever leaving the dock. Beautiful rooms
and excellent service.
Beautiful views from all rooms. Never a dull minute something entertaining at every turn well worth the money.
We will return to the Delta King again real soon

Room Tip: corner suits are large and sunny with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfsup066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    200
    63
    19
    28
See reviews for
61
274
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights on this salvaged and renovated "Delta King" riverboat. It is now a beautiful piece of history. We took advantage of the special which included a dinner the first night and breakfast each morning. We had earlier made reservations for a room on the port (left) side of the riverboat toward the aft or stern. This was also alongside the river and not along the starboard (right) side of the riverboat. We made the right decision. Our room was situated toward the rear with a beautiful view of the river. Boat after boat passed by with its passengers waving to us as we stood outside our room. The room was beautifully renovated with large windows to view the river. Unfortunately, at night activities on the floor above were noisey and bothersome. The food at the restaurant at dinner was good, selections limited. A full service bar was located near the top of the riverboat with great seating outside. The breakfast each morning was very good. The staff was friendly and accommodating. There was plenty to do each day as we were given vouchers to go to the fabulous "train museum" nearby (within walking distance). After the tour of the museum we walked around "old Sacramento" before returning to our room. It was so much fun. Parking in the area was very limited. Parking on the street is $.25 for every 12 minutes. Bring plenty of quarters or utilize the change machine on the street corners. The City of Sacramento is extremely aggressive and will not hesitate to ruin your adventure by giving you a $40.00 parking ticket. The city parking garage is another option but the hourly rates are huge and you may have to take out a second mortgage on your home to stay all day. The City expects you to see everything within 2 hours. Yes, you have to move your car every two hours if you don't park in the garage. If you can stay on the riverboat and can afford or pay for valet parking or afford the city garage fees it is a worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: Select a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeniorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Excellent little hotel, two really good meals, excellently furnished room, the slant of the deck does make walking around at night a little odd, especially when youve had a few

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ansonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Met up with my sister in law for a night out in Old Sacramento. What a treat. The Delta King was a 1/2 way point for us both. The atmosphere on the King is awesome. From the first moment when you are greated by friendly staff you know you are in for a great time. The food is outstanding and not too expensive. The view of the river is great. We are planning another trip soon and I would like to take in the Dinner Theater Show. Can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We shacked up here while in town for work. The Delta King has lots of character. My valet and check-in experience were great, facilitated by their friendly staff. My room was clean and cozy with a fabulous view of the river. Free wifi was a wonderful touch and I definitely put it to good use. It is also steps from a nice selection of Old Sacramento shops and restaurants.

The Delta King's Pilot House has what I would consider to be the best bacon served at any restaurant in Sacramento! The rest of the menu is good too but the bacon really stands out!

Room Tip: Must eat at the Delta King's Pilot House
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I've always wanted to stay here. We live 2 hrs north so grest wknd getsway I booked a night for my 40th bday. Arrived & valet was easy to find $ 18 nice since really no parking available on street. Check in was quick & they upgraded us to larger room! Had dinner at Delta bar & Grill we had a hightop table and boat does lean so did our table. Waitress brought us Pilothouse menus as well which was nice of her. After we ordered she moved us to a nice riverview table. Dinner was great they offered me complimentary dessert. Tiramisu , yum! Room was loud as we were directly over bar, windows don't open so bit stuffy, bathrooms need vents. But old ship so oh we'll. I loved it and glD I stayed. Breakfast was complimentary in Piilot house, really good and $30 value. Server even offered to get my husband Ibufrofen for his headache. :). Great place. Must stay there if in Sac!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orrip72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

What a way to spend my last night in the states, aboard a remarkable old paddle wheeler from days gone by!
THE STAFF ON DUTY UPON MY ARRIVAL, "Sir Max", "Lady Amy", "Driver Dav" were so helpful in so many ways and helped make my night such a worthwhile finish to another great holiday. The bar and restaurant service was impeccable, the meals themselves marvellous, the location in "Old Sacramento" one to be seen.

Room Tip: remembering where you are simply makes it a joy to stay aboard whichever room is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ynotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Property: Delta King
Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing