We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stay at Sutter House Best Western Sacramento” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Reno NV, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at Sutter House Best Western Sacramento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

The TV offerings are sparse. The pool was undergoing Maintenance until just a half hour before our departure. It was summer in Sacramento and we wanted to swim. Also wanted to watch the S.F. Giants and found their system did not carry their games!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    222
    61
    23
    17
See reviews for
147
157
31
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weed, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Liked that this was a smaller hotel and it was open air with the pool in the center. Within walking distance of capitol, IMAX, Convention Center, etc. Free parking! Many selections for breakfast. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you will be in Sacramento for business or pleasure, I would encourage you to stay at the Sutter House. Their staff is friendly, helpful and happy to help. The rooms are exactly as expected based on their website. The free breakfast, while not a full continental, is filling and the free WiFI and free parking are a value added bonus. Will stay there again next time I am planning an extended stay. We were there for an entire week and it was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bambi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Level Contributor
227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My spouse booked a room here for a nice romantic experience, got a room facing the poolside. Nice, but small lobby, friendly receptionist, nice, spacious room, comfortable bed, complimentary wi-fi, mini-fridge, microwave, complimentary continental breakfast from 6M-9:30AM including make your own waffles, frozen breakfast burritos, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruits, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, tea, apple & orange juices, allow yourself an hour for breakfast, don't show up within the last half hour. This was one of the best lodging places of the ones stayed on this July trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This place is not only people friendly, but also provides a clean room at an affordable rate with free breakfast, exercise room and a pool. I was on a business trip and my meeting location was right across from this hotel. The place is walking distance to the capital building. By night fall, the area is somewhat deserted and there aren't too many eating places close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank P8869UYmichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Don't unpack your bags too quickly here. Scout out the room first - make sure everything is in order. We stayed for 3 days at this downtown Sacramento Motor Hotel. They have a lot of pluses in their favor. Location, good parking, tidy grounds, clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly service, and a nice breakfast set up. But there were some issues for us. The first day we were in room 212 and we had a couple of problems that required us asking for a room change for the next 2 days. The internet is not easily available in that corner of the building. Also there was something wrong with the sink drain. Plus the room had an odor to it. So we moved to room 225, much better for the internet and no other issues we thought until we got back in the evening and the air-conditioning wasn't working properly - it made normal air sounds but the room was hot and we couldn't cool it down- instead we slept with our window open. Well the morning train stops right outside Room 225 so I was up at 5:30ish I think .... I can't even remember it was so early. I just shut the window and went back to sleep. We didn't want to move again so we kept quiet about it, cranked the air conditioner to MAX and highest speed and went off to Old Sacramento for the day. It was a little better the next night but still warm and Sacramento in July is pretty toasty.

Room Tip: Don't unpack your bags until you're satisfied with the Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and other asp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanukSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is close to the Capitol (walking distance), and if you are energetic Old Town Sacramento. We chose it because it was on a less busy street and we were pleased with the quiet neighborhood. And our room had a Capitol dome view! Other good features - free covered parking (there is even a locked area for motorcycles), updated rooms, friendly staff. We had a small AC issue and the staff immediately took care of it, even moving our bags for us. The hotel has a 60's design with a pool in the center courtyard. It appeared to us that everything had been recently updated from the pool to the rooms to the hallways.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azsheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Address: 1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing