We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our choice in Sacramento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sutter House
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Our choice in Sacramento”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Friendly, helpful & professional staff. Room ready early - oversized 2 queen, with good toiletries. View of pool from second floor and very quiet. Good breakfast inc. yogurt and oatmeal. TV choices slim.Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SaraEOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sutter House, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we turly appreicate you taking the time.
Hope to see you again in the future.

Doris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    248
    67
    28
    19
See reviews for
170
187
34
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is close to the capital. My room was newly decorated and looked and smelled clean. The pool area was clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The area around the hotel gets a little scary at night, don't walk back to the hotel, take a cab. The breakfast was ok for a breakfast on the run.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanCGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sutter House, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and we hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Room decor was lovely. Room was clean. We were a little disappointed there was no fridge in room. Reception were very friendly and helpful. We also appreciated the clear guidance sheet and books about the area. Breakfast was ok. Though it was not ad good as another best western we had stayed in earlier that week. Location was quiet apart from being woken up by workmen on the roof early in the morning. It felt as though they were going to come through the roof. Appreciated the free parking and was pleased we had a car as the decent eating places were a good 15/20 min walk away and was not too well lit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geishagirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sutter House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, there never is a good time to water proof our roof, and I apologize for the noise. We are planning on adding refrigerators and micorwaves to our guest rooms this year, and are always looking for ways to improve our continental breakfast, so we truly appreicate your feedback. We hope that you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this property in mid-March for the weekend and were pleased when we entered the lobby and were greeted by such a lovely staff member. She welcomed us warmly and checked us in promptly. We went up to our room which was small, left our luggage and went back out seeking a restaurant for dinner. Upon returning from dinner our kids got ready for bed, pulled back the covers of the bed and there was a huge silverfish laying on one of the pillows. We got rid of the bug, then pulled all the covers down and there was a long hair and some other black things that looked like mouse droppings. I immediately called the front desk and they came to look at it. They said that was unacceptable and moved us across the hall to another room. At that point I was completely mortified that we had chosen to stay at such a dirty hotel. The next morning one of my kids woke up with a strange bump on her leg. (After returning home we had to visit the doctor because the area grew larger. We were told it was a spider bite. Not what I expect to receive while staying at a Best Western.)

The complimentary breakfast was ok. Generic brand cereals, cheap juice, and fruit that was not restocked on Sunday (no bananas on Sunday, only apples and oranges). I have stayed at many hotels that offer a complimentary continental breakfast and this was by far the worst selection and taste.

The location of hotel is maybe not the greatest. Saturday night we were woken up by a fight in the alley near our window. Sacramento's finest showed up to break it up.

The only positive thing was that we were able to park for free in the covered parking garage. This was our overnight trip to Sacramento and unfortunately it was spoiled by our hotel choice.

If you are seeking a moderate hotel that is clean with good service, save yourself and seek a different location.

* In all fairness the hotel staff did discount our stay, however with the inconvienence of moving two sleepy children, luggage, and trying to explain to my kids that the bugs won't be in their bed in the night, I feel that we should have had a complimentary night. I completed the hotel's online survey when we returned home and I was offered with a discounted stay for a return trip to the same hotel. NO THANK YOU!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1vacation2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sutter House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We take pride in being an "Ultra Clean" hotel and are pro-active when it comes to cleaning or insect issues. Our Maintenance Engineer has a Branch 2 & Branch 3 Termite and General Pest License and I am sure you will be pleased to learn that the bedding and mattress of the room you were moved from and to were inspected and he found no evidence of spiders, fecal matter, nor silverfish. He did however, find a smashed carpet beetle, they do not bite, nor do they carry any diseases, and are usually carried in by luggage, personal clothing or the elements. I would like to say that we are 100% successful in keeping out nature, but that would not be true.
It is a requirement of all Best Westerns to serve qualtiy brand name items on our continental breakfast; the cereal (a Kellogg's product) and juice (Minute Maid) are served in dispensers for the convenience of our guests and unfortunatley only have the name of the product not the brand. Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Mixed feelings - lovely bedding and room, convenient location to the Old Town and downtown. Appreciated the free parking and internet. Certain housekeeping aspects could be improved, also had an issue with thin walls that could have been dealt with more effectively. Breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: We faced the interior courtyard pool which wasn't heated yet. I have to think it would be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sutter House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we will use your comments as a training tool to help us improve. We hope that you will stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed one night on our trip up to Oregon, liked the fact it was away from I-5. yet convenient.
Front desk staff was very friendly, and helpful. Suggested the restaurant next to the hotel, which was very good. Would stay here again without any reservations. Our room's back wall (headboard) was adjacent to the walkway, so a little noisy until bedtime. Alot of youth staying here for a conference, well behaved and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sutter House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we truly appreciate your feedback and hope that the next time your travels bring you to Sacramento, that you will stay with us!

Doris Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sutter House

Property: Best Western Plus Sutter House
Address: 1100 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing