We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cleaning Gloves Left on TV Stand - Pigsty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Cleaning Gloves Left on TV Stand - Pigsty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a disgusting hotel. I arrived back in my room to find the latex cleaning gloves on the TV stand next to my personal belongings, so quick question, how many of you have ever put something on that stand? Next, they didn't make the bed properly, pillows were thrown on floor next to chair. Third, when I called Manager to complain was told no manager on duty, asked to be called next day, no call. Contacted Corporate where I learned Best Western is a Non-Profit Membership Corporation and can make NO SUGGESTIONS to running of hotel, basically worthless, oh, they tried to bribe me with $50 to ease my disgust...no thanks. My advice, don't stay here until new management and staff are in place, Finally, these geniuses just installed 12 inch tiles in hallways, this way you can hear every guests wheeled suitcase going down the hall, thump thump, thump thump as it goes over the grout, genius!!!!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel, those tiles are EVERYWHERE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations as it is our goal that every guest stay is an enjoyable one. We truly take pride in being an "Ultra Clean Hotel" and you can imagine my dismay when I learned that one of our staff mistakenly left her cleaning gloves behind and that the bed was not made correctly. We have used your comments as a training tool for all of the housekeepers here so that mistakes like this do not happen again. Your guest room was one of the few that open to our pool and courtyard. All of our other rooms are in interior carpeted corridors and we would have been happy to mve you to a different room had we known you were unhappy with noise. I am sorry that I was not available that night to speak with you, however, I did leave a message on your phone the next morning in hopes that we could find a way to make your next day's stay with us better than your first. Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    211
    56
    21
    17
See reviews for
138
136
29
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Very accommodating, friendly staff and very helpful in providing info about the area (food places etc) Rooms were clean. Breakfast was good. In a great location easy walk into the downtown and capital. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for thaking the time to write a review on our hotel. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back!

Doris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is in a good location in downtown Sac. It is near the capitol and old town Sac.
The hotel has one old rickety elevator. The pool is on the second floor. They have a parking area but if you have to leave for the eve make sure you are back early or some one picks you up.
There is a restaurant next door but we didn't eat there.
The room was clean. They were doing maintenance on the pool area. I wished I was told before booking it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1974, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
I am really sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Unfortuantely there is never a good time to do maintenance on our pool, however, we thought it would be better to do it during the winter hours when the pool is to cold to enjoy. We asked that they only work between the hours of 10am-4pm, because this is the time when the majority of our guests are out and about the city. I hope that the next time you are in Sacramento that you will give us another chance, we truly appriciate your business.

Doris Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Front Desk Attendant Vickie always remembers me and is such a pleasure to do business with. I like the location it is so close to the capitol. I can walk everywhere and appriciate the parking garage for it's convience.

The rooms are very clean and the linens are a nice quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DIANE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calipatria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Traveling around the holidays is never "fun", but my trip was made much easier and enjoyable by the convenient location and great staff. A 5 minute walk to the capitol, great food right across the parking lot, and a quiet, comfortable room sure made my week go by smoothly. The front desk staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was a big time saver. I'll definitely stay with them when I'm in Sacramento...

Room Tip: West end was quiet, rail runs on the east.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Address: 1100 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing