We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sutter House
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We attended an evening wedding at Firehouse Restaurant in Old Sacramento. Knowing it would end after midnight, we looked for a pet friendly, comfortable, safe place to stay one night before returning to the bay area. After reading reviews for pet friendly hotels within several miles of the wedding venue, we opted for Best Western Sutter House.

We were so happy with our choice as the room was clean and comfortable. It appeared to have been recently updated. Underground parking was a plus. They welcomed us and our black lab. Everything was just what we wanted and we enjoyed our short stay!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the Good Year Tire Center, which closed about the time we left for the wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    237
    65
    27
    19
See reviews for
164
175
34
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great staff. Good location. Huge room. Great pool view. Friendly staff. Went on a bar tour of the downtown area and had a great dining experience at McCormick & Shmitt. We will be back in July :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladykeepsmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK - South West
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent one night at the Best Western Plus Sutter House.

The hotel is greatly located and within walking distance from the Old Sacramento, the Parliament house and even the shopping mall. It has its own swimming pool and the rooms are very clean, very nicely and tastefully decorated. Staff are friendly and happy to advise of places to eat or visit.

Breakfast offers a lot of choice too with cereals, porridge, fruits, waffles, bagels, muffins etc, etc.

We would definitely stay there again if visiting Sacramento in the future. Conveniently, there is a Red Lobster within a few miles from the hotel too which was very nice for dinner.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the swimming pool are the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happy_fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed for 1 night, the room was comfortable and clean and the location was excellent. Breakfast was basic but OK and the free parking was a bonus.The staff were helpful and, aside from the room being quite noisy beacuse of traffic, I couldn't fault the hotel. I would ask for a room facing the pool if I was to return to Sacramento again.
The old town and the Capitol are within a 10-15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Inner rooms facing the pool might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Enjoyed this hotel. The staff were all nice and very helpful. Convenient location. Comfortable rooms, beds. Clean.

Room Tip: Rooms with sliding doors onto pool are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Suited us perfectly. A big clean room with double doors opening onto the pool, free parking underneath and breakfast included(the usual chain hotel fare).
The railway museum, the Capitol and the crocker gallery were all 15/20 minutes walk away through good areas. Nothing fancy about it, but if you want to see the city it's perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it worked well for us. It's very centrally located, just a few blocks from the capital. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable and there was free parking, which was a nice bonus. The breakfast was typical for a Best Western.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sutter House

Property: Best Western Plus Sutter House
Address: 1100 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing