We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Inexpensive, clean, nice people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inexpensive, clean, nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The location is great, the area is good, parking is easy, front desk employees are very nice and helpful and rooms are clean and inexpensive. I like this place and will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolsiphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    211
    56
    21
    17
See reviews for
138
136
29
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Hotel is directly in downtown Sacramento and amongst all the big restaurants and the capitol building. Had a room facing the pool area. Went to a bar/restaurant in the best western parking lot ..literally 20 steps out the door, convenient. Beds were EXTREMELY comfy and sunk right into it. Only downside was the paper thin walls.. could hear neighbors on both sides of us.. till 3am, as well as in the pool area. Most of the room looked updated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camcoastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Lets face it, when traveling alone on a business trip you generally have only a few requirements. Usually I look for a good shower, good television, clean facility and room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, WIFI and a location that meets your needs (not necessarily in that order!).

If you are traveling to Sacramento and are doing business in the downtown/midtown area this Best Western will meet your needs. On top of it all they have an above average free breakfast, not just muffins and coffee like so many places these days. Given the cost to experience ratio, I do not think you can do any better. A bonus is that there are numerous good restaurants within walking distance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the light rail station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBoomerNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My wife and I flew to Sacramento to go to the Mother Lode and then South Tahoe. We booked one night on either end of the vacation at the Best Western Sutter House. The drive from the airport was easy, and we were able to check in early. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The king room had an excellent bed, and was very spacious- more than we had expected, and had a flat screen TV. We were on the second floor and it was very quiet at night- no slamming doors or flushing noise. The hotel is within walking distance of the Capitol, Old Sac and the river. Parking is a bit tricky, as the hotel is located on a one way street. Breakfast was very adequate, and checkout fast. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Easy walk to the Capitol and the train museum- a must! ask for room 237- end room on second floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Nice location less than 15 minutes from the old town and restaurants. The pool looked good and staff were all frienndly and helpful. Rooms are a good size, the beds were VERY comfortable and the breakfast pretty good. All furniture and fittings worked well.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the lift or the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank JimTChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great free parking garage, easy access, comfy rooms great beds and pillows, large flat screen tv, swimming pool and good breakfast, from waffles, biscuits and gravy to fresh fruit! It was very clean and Jeremy on the night staff was great, he let us use the microwave to pop popcorn! Also close to the melting pot a great fondue restraunt. close to old town Sac. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: rooms on floor 1 are close to pool with sliding glass door right to the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed during the CA BAR exam. Clean, close (3 short blocks) to Convention Center, decent breakfast, small problem with AC, but willing to work with you. Good price, friendly people. Nice pool. Would definately stay again, but for other reasons.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Address: 1100 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing