We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Comfortable Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Nice location less than 15 minutes from the old town and restaurants. The pool looked good and staff were all frienndly and helpful. Rooms are a good size, the beds were VERY comfortable and the breakfast pretty good. All furniture and fittings worked well.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the lift or the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank JimTChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    216
    57
    21
    17
See reviews for
143
143
30
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great free parking garage, easy access, comfy rooms great beds and pillows, large flat screen tv, swimming pool and good breakfast, from waffles, biscuits and gravy to fresh fruit! It was very clean and Jeremy on the night staff was great, he let us use the microwave to pop popcorn! Also close to the melting pot a great fondue restraunt. close to old town Sac. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: rooms on floor 1 are close to pool with sliding glass door right to the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed during the CA BAR exam. Clean, close (3 short blocks) to Convention Center, decent breakfast, small problem with AC, but willing to work with you. Good price, friendly people. Nice pool. Would definately stay again, but for other reasons.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Excellent value, good service. Solid choice. I stayed here on business and it was safe, clean, a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverlaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Very handy for the places we wanted to see, State Capitol and Old Sacramento both easy walking distance. Room comfortable, no view (a tyre shop!) but we weren't in the room much. Pool area pleasant after a hot day sightseeing, and free parking great as we could safely leave our car parked for the 2 days we were there and not worry about it at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenCopestake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Central, clean and great for the money. The car parking is free also. Oh... check out the thai restaurant "Bangkok at 12" which is very close to the hotel... great food. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skyeyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Generally speaking, this is a decent hotel. The location is great if you're going to the Convention Center but want a place with free parking and free breakfast. The staff was also very nice (although one of the staff members basically said that he couldn't help with anything because he's "just a desk clerk" and I'd have to call the manager for anything).

The room was clean and the bed was comfy. I am always happy to see outlets "on" the desk rather than "under" the desk or, even worse, in places where I have to move furniture or crawl around to find a plug. However, there weren't any outlets on either side of the bed, which is a pet peeve (I charge my phone at night but also use it as an alarm and prefer it on a night table rather than across the room).

The breakfast was also OK if you stick with the waffles with the high-fructose corn syrup maple syrup-like substance, the oatmeal, or the fruit. Everything else is prepackaged and taken out of its individual wrapper to be displayed in the breakfast room. When will hotels start providing good, healthful, wholesome breakfasts? I digress.

The kicker for me, thus the loss of so many stars, was two-fold: First, the walls are paper thin. Even when having a normal conversation, you can hear every word in the room next door. HIGHLY annoying. Second, they advertise free wireless internet, but in 4 days I could only access the web once. The computer indicated that the wireless was working and had high connectivity, but the log-in page to enter the free username and password just wouldn't load. So I ended up missing a lot of work that I was expecting to be able to get done.

If I had to come back to Sac for an event at the Convention Center, I might stay here again simply because it's proximity in relation to the amenities. But I will bring a back-up internet connection. And earplugs.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Amyj1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
Address: 1100 H St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing