We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, Comfortable settings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, Comfortable settings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Checked in late relaxed in the pool and hot tub for an hour nicely laid out, the rooms were very clean and comfortable nice queen size beds luxury rooms for a budget price. the hotel has a river behind it nice to go back and admire the scenery. Staff were very good and the free breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larmac46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our property. Positive feedback like yours motivates us gives you the best customer service possible. We are pleased that you found our staff to be accommodating and our rates affordable. We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    281
    91
    47
    21
See reviews for
194
187
47
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here on way to another location, enjoyed walking to Old Sacramento and the proximity of the Sacramento River Biking Trail. Room was clean, comfortable and everything worked wonderfully. We walked to the River City Brewing Co. for dinner and spent a cool morning riding our bikes on the paved river trail directly behind the motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randolph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our location so highly. We thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is very good for its class--simple, clean and in a good location close to Old Sac. They offer free parking and a shuttle to/from the airport which was very efficient both ways--a big money saver. In a potentially nice location but the downside is the many homeless in the immediate area of the hotel who live by the river. Nobody bothered us, though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are most pleased to read that you were exceedingly happy with your decision to stay with us. We strive to provide the best possible service for our guests’ convenience. Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great place to stay for the California State Fair, Old Sacramento, etc. right where the Sacramento and American Rivers meet, so you can swim boat, etc. Big park with picnic tables, water, bathrooms nearby. Good for bicyclists wanting to take the river trail all the way to Folsom Lake and Dam, all off road and paved (no need for a mountain bike). Not much food around but you can walk to Old Sacramento along the levee of go to J street in the town. Same for bars and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank charlesab2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. We are glad you found the location of our property a perfect place to stay when you visited the California State Fair and Old Sacramento Park. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel has its own gate to great running on the Sac and American River Trails. Free breakfast was excellent with great supply. Beds, pillows and linens were of Hyatt, Marriott, Westin, W standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review of our property. Thank you for your feedback regarding our meals and facilities. Here at Best Western, we strive hard to give you utmost customer satisfaction. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We recently stayed at the Best Western Sandman on a recent trip to visit grandchildren. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and staff was helpful and personable. The best part was the locked gate pass to the trail leading to Old Sacramento. We used it both nites and enjoyed the walk. there was also a fabulous Mexican restaurant on the same location of the hotel. Food was authentic and plentiful and the wait staff was like family. Would definitely stay again and would encourage others. Also, close to airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and found our staff to be very accommodating. As much as possible, we make sure that we provide the best value for our guests. Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel was easy to get to from the highway yet was quiet. The staff were very friendly and the room was top quality. It was easy to access the internet and it worked well. Breakfast included a variety of foods and was the breakfast area was very clean. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 5kathleenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are extremely pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. We strive to work hard to provide you with best service with our staff, internet access, and meals. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Address: 236 Jibboom St, Sacramento, CA 95811-0197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing