We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Sandman Motel
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stopped in this hotel on a recent roadtrip based upon other traveler reviews and it's proximity to the 5 Freeway. The hotel delivered a clean and quiet room. The location was perfect! Our dogs traveled with us and they accommodated our stay in a very clean and comfortable pet friendly room. Nice beds with duvet covers. Flat screen tv. Coffee and continental breakfast in the morning. Even waffle makers! I highly recommend this hotel if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBHTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Sandman Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 675 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cba320
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to see Kings play at the arena a few miles away. no need to pay twice as much at airport hotels. Front desk gave me a back room, so no highway noise. Air freshener strong when I first entered my room. tile floors need to be washed. My socks were filty on the bottoms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gujon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of deep cleaning all rooms which entails breaking down the room and cleaning throughout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel kind of by mistake. There are two Best Westerns in Sacramento and the other was overbooked. They referred us to this one and it worked out great. Good room and bed. I would stay here anytime I am in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cctfds12084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We drove from Portland to Palm Desert and stayed overnight at this motel on our way down and on our way back. It is right off the freeway, and near the attractions of Sacramento. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was immaculate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bedros M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dean I, Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed one night while attending a convention. Although the motel is an older two-story style with exterior rooms (no interior hallways), the rooms, though fairly small, have been updated and are clean, which is my number one requirement.

My room had a small desk, sofa, coffee table, large flat panel television, alarm clock, refrigerator and microwave, iron and ironing board and hairdryer. All (except the alarm clock with an alarm that didn't work) were in good condition and appeared fairly new. The only other non functioning item was a closet door that was off its track. The closet is very small. Lighting is excellent (no 40 watt bulbs hiding a dingy environment) and the HVAC system is quiet and works well.

The beds are comfortable and pillows even better. The bathtub and toilet are in a separate room from the vanity and sink though all are well integrated. Towels are decent and plentiful - way more than most hotels/motels.

Because the motel is near the freeway, there is residual noise though not excessive. I stayed on the second floor right next to the stairway (no elevator), so it was an effort to lug my luggage up two flights of stairs. Except for a late arrival who struggled with his luggage up the same stairs, I did not hear any of my neighbors even though I was directly above the breakfast room. Perhaps the rooms were soundproofed when they were remodeled.

The breakfast is better than average with fresh waffles, cereal, yogurt, bagels, danishes, juice, etc. An attendant keeps everything well stocked and the tables clean.

There are minimal restaurant options near the motel, but the Sandman is only a short drive from downtown Sacramento on the west side of Interstate 5. It's not luxury, but for the money, it is a good value, particularly if you have an AAA discount.

Room Tip: Choose a room toward the back to mute some of the freeway traffic noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLO-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#14 of 81 in Sacramento
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#30 of 81 in Sacramento
459 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 81 in Sacramento
285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom St, Sacramento, CA 95811-0197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing