We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nothing to brag about.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing to brag about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This MOTEL was nice as far as the rooms were concerned. Flat screen and overal clean for what it is. The place is in a good location, many other places near by or within walking distance. However the staff seemed somewhat bothered to help. Didn't seem to get very much customer service. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyGirlW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    280
    86
    43
    19
See reviews for
190
183
46
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Sky Country
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our room was comfortable and clean. It seems as there had been some updating done in the rooms. The exterior is nothing to write home about. We had a flat screen TV, free WiFi. The staff were all friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located near the downtown area. The breakfast included make your own waffles, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, toast and pastries, some fruit, juice, coffee and cappuccino machine. I also used the laundry which was in a secured room and kept very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This Best Western has very nice rooms, tile, granite, wall controlled heat/ac, and comfy beds. You get a nice room for the rates with good breakfast included. Near downtown, great walking trail along river (only hotel there to have river access). This hotel also has a nice gym with flat screen and very nice clean pool area. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. They also have patio rooms at great rates.

Room Tip: The rooms along the river have green views out windows of all rooms. The rooms with sofa beds are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We arrived at the Best Western Sandman late in the evening so we basically went right to bed. Got up in the morning and had a very nice breakfact (included in the room rate) and then left so we were only there for a stopover. We were worried about noise because the hotel is pet friendly and close to the freeway, but we got a room in the back and it was very quiet and comfortable. We liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the sink and vanity. The toilet got plugged up, but they sent someone with a plunger very quickly and the problem was resolved. There was a small desk and chair. We would have liked to have had a more comfortable chair for reading or watching TV, but this was not a big problem. The hotel is a little older but was reasonably priced and suited our needs perfectly. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Totally awesome!. Front desk staff was very helpful. Room was fresh x clean with all the amenities that they offer functional. Nice flat screen tv. Plenty of parking, unlike nearby hotels. Restaurant out front. Private gate that leads to American river bike trail and parks closeby. 25 min walk on trail to Old Town Sac. Property well maintained especially considering it is an older location. Close to airport. Looking forward to staying here again. First stay at BW,if this hotel represents the chains policys x standards they are a great value worth seeking out. Will be trying other BWs. in the future

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCLOUGH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Returned to The Sandman in August with my mother so we could attend her great-great niece's wedding. I knew it was a nice place the first time I was there, but once again, it lived up to it's reputation and my expectations! My mom, 85, with numerous physical handicaps was well taken care of and appreciated the double queen room we had. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning even though she was not able to walk to the breakfast room. The hostess was gracious and helped me to get the food back to our room by suggesting I bring the room tray or to take extra plates to carry items on.
The freeway on and off ramp to I-5 was very convenient to the motel. Amtrak is less than a mile away and so is Old Town Sacramento.
We arrived and departed by Amtrak, and since it was an early departure, we had the front desk make arrangements for a cab. They called on Dave's Cab Co. I can sum up their service in one word: EXCELLENT! Our cab was outside our room at promptly 5:15 a.m., loaded our luggage, drove us directly to the train station and made sure we were okay before he left.
If I need to ever travel to Sacramento again, I will definitely stay at the Sandman again! Dean, GM, has a fantastic staff that is eager to meet everyone's needs and make sure they are happy with their stay. Once again Dean, hats off to you and your staff!!!

Room Tip: If you can secure a room on the back side of the motel, that would be the best, but we stayed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancingeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hmmm... Definitely not my favorite Best Western. Somewhat clean but location is non-desirable. Downtown Sacramento is so close, it's a shame you can't walk there (hotel is off the highway and there is no good walking path to downtown). Inexpensive hotel but much better to upgrade. There is a walking path off the river behind the hotel - but I'm not sure how safe it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing