We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best says it all !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kearney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best says it all !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Totally awesome!. Front desk staff was very helpful. Room was fresh x clean with all the amenities that they offer functional. Nice flat screen tv. Plenty of parking, unlike nearby hotels. Restaurant out front. Private gate that leads to American river bike trail and parks closeby. 25 min walk on trail to Old Town Sac. Property well maintained especially considering it is an older location. Close to airport. Looking forward to staying here again. First stay at BW,if this hotel represents the chains policys x standards they are a great value worth seeking out. Will be trying other BWs. in the future

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCLOUGH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    285
    94
    54
    25
See reviews for
197
194
51
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Returned to The Sandman in August with my mother so we could attend her great-great niece's wedding. I knew it was a nice place the first time I was there, but once again, it lived up to it's reputation and my expectations! My mom, 85, with numerous physical handicaps was well taken care of and appreciated the double queen room we had. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning even though she was not able to walk to the breakfast room. The hostess was gracious and helped me to get the food back to our room by suggesting I bring the room tray or to take extra plates to carry items on.
The freeway on and off ramp to I-5 was very convenient to the motel. Amtrak is less than a mile away and so is Old Town Sacramento.
We arrived and departed by Amtrak, and since it was an early departure, we had the front desk make arrangements for a cab. They called on Dave's Cab Co. I can sum up their service in one word: EXCELLENT! Our cab was outside our room at promptly 5:15 a.m., loaded our luggage, drove us directly to the train station and made sure we were okay before he left.
If I need to ever travel to Sacramento again, I will definitely stay at the Sandman again! Dean, GM, has a fantastic staff that is eager to meet everyone's needs and make sure they are happy with their stay. Once again Dean, hats off to you and your staff!!!

Room Tip: If you can secure a room on the back side of the motel, that would be the best, but we stayed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancingeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hmmm... Definitely not my favorite Best Western. Somewhat clean but location is non-desirable. Downtown Sacramento is so close, it's a shame you can't walk there (hotel is off the highway and there is no good walking path to downtown). Inexpensive hotel but much better to upgrade. There is a walking path off the river behind the hotel - but I'm not sure how safe it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My sister and I were on our annual summer road trip with my two dogs and this was the first night of the trip. The rooms were very nice . . . you'd never know that they were the designated dog rooms. It's a lovely location with a river walk right outside our door. Just perfect for our dogs and the walk along the Sacramento River after a long day in the car was just what we needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely keep this in our folder for future trips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlysfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The beds there are uncomfortable dose not have good hot water due toall the coustomers. Was a cheap place to spend the night. HAD AN AVERAGE BREAKAST and very friendly workers. Felt safer there then when I stayed at the la quinta. Good price for quality.

Room Tip: Stay near the front office on the bottom will most likly have a better hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spike Jr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had to stay in Sacramento for two nights and this hotel was pet friendly. This hotel is very old and seems like something out of the 60's. The furnishings are just hanging on to that era. There was a very old TV which needed to be replaced. The beds were just O.K. We were put in the back because these were pet friendly rooms - I assume.
One bright spot was that the room was very clean. The hotel was along the river which could be accessed by a gate with our key. The grounds there were very tropical and landscaped nicely.
The rooms were made with paper thin walls and anyone talking normally could be clearly heard in the next room. The front desk was adequate. The breakfast was typical but just wasn't tasty - toaster was not functioning and no one seemed concerned. The pet fee was a little more than some and the total price was higher than what you should pay for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Sorry that we did not meet your standards at that time. Since your review we have added Flat Screen TV's and have made numerious changes to both the interior and exterior.
We invite you to come visit us again.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here to see Sacramento. Our room was bright and modern. Pillows were of a good size and the bed very comfortable. The hotel has blocks of rooms and we were on the second floor. We had a little noise from the nearby motorway but not too bad. We availed of the hot tub and pool after dark and it was refreshing.Breakfast was fine though it had no cooked items, only waffles. The back of the hotel runs parallel to the river walk which is a 15 minute walk into Oldtown Sacramento. That is the BONUS with this hotel. The walk into town along the river is very pleasant and it means you can see Sacramento while leaving the car at the hotel. Oldtown is worth seeing with its reconstructed buildings, live theatre productions and Railway Museum. The museum needs about 2 to 3 hours to do it justice and George, the African-American guide was simply a walking encyclopedia of knowledge on this fascinating place. He was a pleasure to listen to. We got a steam train ride too (with a diesel engine!). It isn't a long walk to the Capitol building where you can avail of free guided tours. We loved Sacramento and this hotel made our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a motel block away from the road and possibly with a river view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMRCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
4.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel
Address: 236 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing