We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Sandman Motel
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hmmm... Definitely not my favorite Best Western. Somewhat clean but location is non-desirable. Downtown Sacramento is so close, it's a shame you can't walk there (hotel is off the highway and there is no good walking path to downtown). Inexpensive hotel but much better to upgrade. There is a walking path off the river behind the hotel - but I'm not sure how safe it is.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 678 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

My sister and I were on our annual summer road trip with my two dogs and this was the first night of the trip. The rooms were very nice . . . you'd never know that they were the designated dog rooms. It's a lovely location with a river walk right outside our door. Just perfect for our dogs and the walk along the Sacramento River after a long day in the car was just what we needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely keep this in our folder for future trips.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlysfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The beds there are uncomfortable dose not have good hot water due toall the coustomers. Was a cheap place to spend the night. HAD AN AVERAGE BREAKAST and very friendly workers. Felt safer there then when I stayed at the la quinta. Good price for quality.

Room Tip: Stay near the front office on the bottom will most likly have a better hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spike Jr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had to stay in Sacramento for two nights and this hotel was pet friendly. This hotel is very old and seems like something out of the 60's. The furnishings are just hanging on to that era. There was a very old TV which needed to be replaced. The beds were just O.K. We were put in the back because these were pet friendly rooms - I assume.
One bright spot was that the room was very clean. The hotel was along the river which could be accessed by a gate with our key. The grounds there were very tropical and landscaped nicely.
The rooms were made with paper thin walls and anyone talking normally could be clearly heard in the next room. The front desk was adequate. The breakfast was typical but just wasn't tasty - toaster was not functioning and no one seemed concerned. The pet fee was a little more than some and the total price was higher than what you should pay for this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean I, Manager at Best Western Sandman Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Sorry that we did not meet your standards at that time. Since your review we have added Flat Screen TV's and have made numerious changes to both the interior and exterior.
We invite you to come visit us again.

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here to see Sacramento. Our room was bright and modern. Pillows were of a good size and the bed very comfortable. The hotel has blocks of rooms and we were on the second floor. We had a little noise from the nearby motorway but not too bad. We availed of the hot tub and pool after dark and it was refreshing.Breakfast was fine though it had no cooked items, only waffles. The back of the hotel runs parallel to the river walk which is a 15 minute walk into Oldtown Sacramento. That is the BONUS with this hotel. The walk into town along the river is very pleasant and it means you can see Sacramento while leaving the car at the hotel. Oldtown is worth seeing with its reconstructed buildings, live theatre productions and Railway Museum. The museum needs about 2 to 3 hours to do it justice and George, the African-American guide was simply a walking encyclopedia of knowledge on this fascinating place. He was a pleasure to listen to. We got a steam train ride too (with a diesel engine!). It isn't a long walk to the Capitol building where you can avail of free guided tours. We loved Sacramento and this hotel made our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a motel block away from the road and possibly with a river view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMRCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Nice size, clean room with firm mattress. Fluffy towels. Bathroom with tub/shower and toilet a little small, but good size dressing area. Only a continental breakfast with waffles and the area was very small so we opted to find someplace else to eat. It was very quiet and right next to the river walk if you wanted to take advantage. We didn't take our computers, so didn't try the wifi. Once you are inside your room, you won't notice the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor in a quiet location - if you don't mind stairs. We were on the river side aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awebCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We chose this motel for it's convenient location, namely it's access to the path along the Sacramento River. It also convenient for old town and for highway 5. The rooms, breakfast and wi-fi were all more than adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murfplace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 82 in Sacramento
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
5.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#32 of 82 in Sacramento
463 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 82 in Sacramento
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sandman Motel

Address: 236 Jibboom St, Sacramento, CA 95811-0197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $95 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sandman Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sandman Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing