We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
356
60
20
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
60
20
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastthe main housemozart roomjacuzzi tubb bsbreakfast was deliciouschocolate covered strawberriesquiet streetwithin walking distanceacross the streeteach morningnext morningwonderful stayhome away from homeoatmealbusiness tripfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 446 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2017

My husband and I realized this trip marked almost 20 years of us staying at the Amber House while in Sacramento. This trip was just as wonderful as it was back then! The rooms are spacious and clean with comfy beds, nice bathrooms, and in an area of midtown that is walking distance to all the great restaurants. The staff is lovely and breakfast delicious- they even quietly bring coffee, tea, or OJ outside your room at 6 am! I highly recommend staying here when you are in Sac!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Mozart room! First floor with a great bathroom and a nice outdoor private patio!
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

Arrived here quite late which was disappointing as we would have liked to have explored the area. The Amber house was situated in a lovely area and we were allocated a room in the house opposite. The room was delightful. Beautifully decorated, with a four poster bed and was absolutely spotlessly clean! Home from home!
Internet was fast and we ate a lovely breakfast on the verandha. Cannot find a fault at all. Utterly charming!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank K4657WYpaulw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

Cheap bath products, squeaky bed, rude staff (IF you can find them). For a three night stay, we never got asked at any point how our stay was or if we needed anything. If you even want to ask a question you have to stand on the porch and ring the doorbell and then get attitude from the staff person who shows up 15 min later. We got the complimentary cookies the second night only. Seems like once they swiped our credit card they just didn't care.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grrlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Amber House Inn of Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

I sincerely apologize for the experience you had while staying with us! I can't seem to locate your reservation and would appreciate the chance to talk this over. Until then I'd like to address a few of your concerns:
Regarding our toiletries they are all eco-friendly and made by Holcombe & Moore - a very reputable name in the hospitality industry and certainly not cheap, but we understand we cannot please everyone.
We do have a "ring the doorbell" policy just in case you are unable to locate an Innkeeper. We have 2 houses and our staff keeps busy going back and forth. In the evening hours only we only have 1 employee on site and she/he may be doing laundry or passing out cookies, as a rule we have anywhere from 2-4 employees on site including owners. We are a small business and do not have a "front desk" person at night, so this policy has always worked well for us (certainly should not be taking 15 minutes, 60 seconds at max).
Cookies are left outside the room in the evening, so as not to disturb our guests...perhaps you missed them?
If you decide to call I would also like to know what bed is squeaking as to rectify this situation, we have not had any complaints so not sure which bed has the issue.

Again, we take it to heart when our guests leave unhappy and would love the chance to make it up to you in the future. Please contact me directly 520-425-1063 or via email holly@amberhouse.com.

Warm regards,
Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Since I grew up in Sacramento - we decided that on a business trip there we would try the Amber House Inn because of its central location. We were happy we did. The staff was wonderful, the room was excellent as was the bath. The coffee service in the morning was a great addition and my husband loved the two breakfasts he had. All in all a great experience.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AggieJK1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Amber House Inn of Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you so much for the kind review! It was our pleasure to host you and hope to welcome you back in the future :)

Best,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Excellent. Had never been there before and was suggested to try it by a business associate. Glad I did. Great value, decorated beautifully, and wonderful breakfast; hats off to the cooks. Will definitely come again!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kbabcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews