We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with a few caveats ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amber House Inn of Midtown
Ranked #1 of 14 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Amber House is a lovely B&B set in a very quiet neighborhood but within a modest walking distance of the capital. The room we were in was nicely furnished and very comfortable. The breakfasts were uniformly delicious (but see comment below) and the service was gracious and warm.

There are several things, none major, about Amber House you should consider before you book. First, it is not inexpensive but has the drawbacks one finds at many bed and breakfasts: noise from other guests that is unavoidable and louder than one usually finds in a hotel. Second, you have no control over the temperature of your room, although they will graciously adjust the temperature of the entire house. Three, as noted by other reviewers and defensively responded to by the hotel, sone of the breakfasts do not have some items that you might expect at a B&B, like meats or breads or pastries. Sometimes they did, other times, the breakfasts were skimpy, though delicious. Four, they do not put out nibbles or food in the afternoon or early evening like many B&Bs do. That didn't bother me but it might you. They do bake delicious chocolate chip cookies every evening and bring them to your rooom so that might suffice for you. Five, and more significant, we stayed in their second house which, tho the room possibly similar to ones in the main house, deprived us of tge reason to be in a B&B: common rooms you can use during the day. Though yiu have access to it from across the street, you probably won't use it as a practical matter. Plus, we faced exclusion from using it on several occasions, because of a function being held there. So we had no place even to meet our daughter who was passing through Sacramento and we went to a Starbucks instead. We only got a sweet, "you can't", which sounded more like "too bad".

While Amber House was excellent in many respects, you might evaluate whether you'd be just as happy in a comparatively priced hotel, particularly if you cannot stay on the main house ir uf a wedding is booked.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberHouseBB, Owner at Amber House Inn of Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate all your feedback as we continuously strive to provide our guests the best service and experience. We thought it important to note for future guests reading your review that it is VERY unusual that we have 2 events back to back in our main house, especially since we host only a few events per year. Unless the party books the entire Inn, our public areas are available again after 4 pm for our in house guests, as was the case during your stay. We apologize that you were not able to use the facilities at all times and met your family offsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 418 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We loved the stay at this place, two houses hold the guest rooms with a kitchen available for customer use. We had left overs from travelling and Judith was kind enough to re-heat and supply us with plates and napkins for our dinner. The 2 person tub was a bit tight for two adults but hey...the candles, chocolate covered strawberries and champagne were amazing! Our bed was comfortable, the weather was perfect with the windows open (even though we were told if we wanted the thermostat changed, that was just fine). We were not bothered at all; by staff or guests and enjoyed a lot of private time in our room. It was a great romantic vacation. We woud absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank npetrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Amber House! My husband and I recently took my aging mother there after seeing the sandhill cranes at Woodbridge and en route to see the snow geese at Gray Lodge the following day. It was the perfect place to stop! It's a wonderful old craftsman, lovingly restored. Its within walking distance of a number of good restaurants. The rooms are gracious and charming. We felt so pampered with fresh baked cookies in the evening, coffee brought to the room in the morning, and scrumptious granola, fresh fruit and scones served by a warm fire. This was followed with a goodbye hug from the friendly staff and we were encouraged to return - something we hope to do!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hslettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Details of the place are available on other reviews so aside from the great personal service, our room lacked a way to warm it up as the entire house is controlled by one locked thermostat so we were left a bit uncomfortable. The mattress could have been a "pillow top" but wasn't and was NOT comfortable. Perhaps a down comforter on the bed would have helped us get warm as the bedding was a bit thin. For the price, the included breakfast could have included some rolls or toast. Suggest that extra blanket(s) be left in the room "just in case".

Room Tip: Bring a blanket
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberHouseBB, Owner at Amber House Inn of Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear John M
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. We enjoyed taking care of you during your one night stay. We are sorry that the temperature in your room was not satisfactory. The night of your stay was actually the first night of the season we had the heat on (as per your request). Our house has various zones for heating/air (not the entire house is heated at the same time) we can adjust it by floor and keep it at an average temperature to please most of our guests. We encourage our guests to let us know their preferences - warmer/colder, our Innkeepers are here for you 24/7. We are sorry that we were not aware that you wanted it warmer, it would have been an easy adjustment. All our rooms feature european down comforters and additional down comforters and extra blankets are available at any time from our innkeepers. The mattress in your room is equipped with a NovaForm Mattress topper. All rooms in our Musicians Manor Home have these toppers, rooms in our Poets Refuge however have Pillow Top mattresses. We have noted your preference in your guest profile and will recommend a different room for your next stay.
Our 2 course gourmet breakfasts usually do not include a side of toast/rolls but we always have some bread products available upon request and they can easily be served while you enjoy your breakfast.
As a 4 Diamond Inn, we strive to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and anticipate any needs in advance. We encourage our guests to let us know any additional service/requests that may arise during your stay and we will be happy to accommodate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was a wonderful stay! We stayed in the Longfellow room and it was charming, clean, and sweet! I love the old timey charm with modern conveniences! They serve you a WONDERFUL breakfast included in the price and also will serve you complimentary chocolate chip cookies at night!!! We had chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room for an extra fee and they were delicious. Staff was so warm and welcoming, it felt very private (although I know other guests were there), and the house is simply beautiful! My boyfriend had a message in the morning that was also fantastic!!! I would recommended this a thousand times over, and I was sad we only had 1 night there. We also got a great deal on the room, which was nice. :) It's great that the location was so close to downtown and all our activities. Might I recommend you taking a class with GirlGlass where you can make your own paperweights in glass or make your own glass ornaments? This hotel is really close to the studio. The surrounding area is "safe" but it is downtown Sacramento, I'm just glad my bf was with me to walk around at night. My bf also found this great tiny sushi restaurant that we walked to from the amber house that for the life of me I can't remember the name :( But it was delicious!! Point is, stay at this hotel, you won't be disappointed! :D

Room Tip: You can pick your room so look at the pics on their website first :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tori7112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Judith and staff were welcoming, kind, and sincere. They made our stay a home-like experience. We chose the Vivaldi room with spa tub, shower, and private sundeck. Chocolate dipped strawberries, champagne and a couples massage are recommended. The main Amber House is a beautifully restored Craftsman style home. It was nice to sit on the porch or in the main living room near the fireplace. After visiting friends and family, it was nice to come home to a relaxing environment on a quiet street. This location is close to great restaurants and pubs in the Midtown Sacramento area. Walkable score is high as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmajere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Amber House was warm and welcoming with highly professional hosts. We arrived at this beautifully restored and appointed Craftsman house mid morning, too early to check in, from a very long train journey. We were given iced water and freshly squeezed orange Joyce and left our bags there. No kitsch here! The bedroom and bathroom were spacious, immaculately clean and luxuriously comfortable. The staff and proprietor were welcoming, informative and helpful. Coffee and fresh orange juice were outside our room first thing, and we breakfasted on the verandah with hummingbirds feeding right beside us. Served on a white linen tablecloth, breakfast was sumptuous: more freshly squeezed juice, fresh fruit with cereal and an imaginative and delicious version of French Toast. The neighborhood was quiet, safe and tree lined, yet just a short walk from the Capitol and the excellent Crocker Art Museum.
We plan to return to this delightful B&B very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryJ04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
1.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.5 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#38 of 82 in Sacramento
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House Inn of Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Inn of Midtown

Address: 1315 22nd St, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816-5717 (Formerly Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range: $184 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Inn of Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, seven blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amber House Inn of Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House b&b Inn
Amber House Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing