We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little bit different...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A little bit different...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are not super experienced in the B & B world, but we have been to plenty over the years. This is the first one wherein we never once met or talked to the actual owner. We interacted with 3 different persons during the course of our 1-night stay, and all of them were very friendly and helpful. But, they were employees, and it showed.

The breakfast was quite good (broiled grapefruit tastes MUCH better than it sounds), in fact, the potatoes were fantastic!

Parking is not obvious, but the helpful staff directed us to the accepted locations. The room was extremely comfortable, but the water temperature and pressure is sensitive to demands from other rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberHouseBB, Owner at Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
So sorry that I did not intorduce myself at breakfast as the owner, but I was in fact the person who made and served you breakfast! We talked about breakfast - the grapefruit and potatoes - and your long road trip back home. On your next trip passing through Sacramento, we will be sure to identify ourselves as the owners to you and spend more time talking to you about Amber House. Thank you for your feedback and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    42
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
192
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night. They were easy to work with, gave us our keys a day ahead of time, were flexible when we wanted to change our breakfast time, the room was beautiful and comfortable. A great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amata25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Such an amazing stay! My fiance booked a room and surprised me with a stay in the Emily Dickinson room. I was worried (and tired) because we arrived late. But everything was set up for us and walking into the Emily Dickinson room was, and this is the only way I can describe it, invigorating! It was just beautiful! Not only was the room beautiful and comforting, but we also had orange juice and cookies waiting for us upon arrival in the room. The restroom, which included a nice shower and hot tub, had skylights so at night you could see the stars and in the day you had great natural sunlight. The staff was so welcoming and nice. If you can't tell, I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Emily Dickinson room. My only regret was that we showed up so late and didn't have a chance to enjoy the whole premises longer. (They did have a nice porch, and I hear nice backyard, that I would have liked to relax in)

Room Tip: I've only stayed in the Emily Dickinson room and it was perfect. But I hear the Mozart room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarGar641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I on a whim decided to travel from Redding to Sacramento to catch an IMAX movie and go to IKEA. We found the Amber House online and scheduled visit in the Lord Byron room. To say we were impressed was an understatement. I had ordered rose pedals (synthetic) and incredible chocolate dipped strawberries as a surprise and my wife just lit up when we walked in the room. The bed was very comfortable as was the in room spa for 2. They offer top of the line skin and hair products in case you didn't bring your own. We were within walking distance (1 mile) from the IMAX. I would highly recommend the Amber House and it will be one of our new "cool places to go in Sacramento."

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first time ever staying at a Bed and breakfast before and me and my partner loved the 5 star accommodation we received from the minuet we arrived till the second we left. The staff is amazing. Having a fireplace was the icing on the cake!! The sweet surprise that we encountered when we where upgraded made the occasion that much sweeter.

Thank you

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vgcarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Have to fly up to sacto for work; for just a couple of days? Ug only good part is staying at the Amber House. CLEAN, georgous rooms, fabulous beds: antique bathtubs and yummy breakfast served in bedroom! Doesnt get much better. Ez walk to capitol and all state offices; several great restaurants within a few blocks for dinner such as Urban Jacks and Waterboy even a small market for stuff you cant carry on plane anymore. Really is the best part of my business trips to Sacto. Did i mention Egyptian cotton sheets and comforters?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The wife and I are in business together and came to Sacramento to see our print facility on a Monday. We decided to try the Amber House B&B since it was really close to our facility and other attractions in Sacramento.

I've never stayed at a B&B until this visit and no had expectations of what I'd experience trying out this type of stay. When we arrived, it was like walking into a very large house that was well-groomed and classy. After checking in, we went to locate our Mozart room located in their second house across the street.

As my wife opened the door and stepped into the room, I could tell she loved what she saw. Beautiful antique furniture that complemented the hardwood floors. The fireplace presented a classic look and warmed the room perfectly. As my wife looked towards the side the bed was on, she saw rose pedals draped around the bed with a heart-shaped outline of pedals on the bed. Just when the wife didn't believe it could get any better, we opened the door to the bathroom. Beautifully lined marble floors covered the large area. The heart-shaped jacuzzi was a big plus for our trip. We soaked in it for quite a long time that evening.

The topper was the bucket with Chardonnay wined chilled to perfection, sitting along side of the chocolate-covered strawberries. What made this trip worth its weight in gold was also the bed. The bed was extremely comfortable and we woke extremely refreshed. Then, the Amber House delivered a huge breakfast to our room. They served grape fruit, bacon, and french toast in large proportions.

One of the other benefits to the Amber House was the location. The B&B is located about 1 mile from the Capitol. We went there Sunday night and got to peak in the windows and take pictures of how the architecture looks incredible with all the lighting from inside the building.

In conclusion, make no other reservations in Sacramento unless it involves the Amber House.

Room Tip: MOZART room provided the most comfort features
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
1.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.8 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#40 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1315 22nd St, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816-5717
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, eight blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House b&b Inn
Amber House Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing