We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B with amazing hospitality ;)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amber House Inn of Midtown
Ranked #1 of 14 Sacramento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first time ever staying at a Bed and breakfast before and me and my partner loved the 5 star accommodation we received from the minuet we arrived till the second we left. The staff is amazing. Having a fireplace was the icing on the cake!! The sweet surprise that we encountered when we where upgraded made the occasion that much sweeter.

Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vgcarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 428 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Have to fly up to sacto for work; for just a couple of days? Ug only good part is staying at the Amber House. CLEAN, georgous rooms, fabulous beds: antique bathtubs and yummy breakfast served in bedroom! Doesnt get much better. Ez walk to capitol and all state offices; several great restaurants within a few blocks for dinner such as Urban Jacks and Waterboy even a small market for stuff you cant carry on plane anymore. Really is the best part of my business trips to Sacto. Did i mention Egyptian cotton sheets and comforters?

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The wife and I are in business together and came to Sacramento to see our print facility on a Monday. We decided to try the Amber House B&B since it was really close to our facility and other attractions in Sacramento.

I've never stayed at a B&B until this visit and no had expectations of what I'd experience trying out this type of stay. When we arrived, it was like walking into a very large house that was well-groomed and classy. After checking in, we went to locate our Mozart room located in their second house across the street.

As my wife opened the door and stepped into the room, I could tell she loved what she saw. Beautiful antique furniture that complemented the hardwood floors. The fireplace presented a classic look and warmed the room perfectly. As my wife looked towards the side the bed was on, she saw rose pedals draped around the bed with a heart-shaped outline of pedals on the bed. Just when the wife didn't believe it could get any better, we opened the door to the bathroom. Beautifully lined marble floors covered the large area. The heart-shaped jacuzzi was a big plus for our trip. We soaked in it for quite a long time that evening.

The topper was the bucket with Chardonnay wined chilled to perfection, sitting along side of the chocolate-covered strawberries. What made this trip worth its weight in gold was also the bed. The bed was extremely comfortable and we woke extremely refreshed. Then, the Amber House delivered a huge breakfast to our room. They served grape fruit, bacon, and french toast in large proportions.

One of the other benefits to the Amber House was the location. The B&B is located about 1 mile from the Capitol. We went there Sunday night and got to peak in the windows and take pictures of how the architecture looks incredible with all the lighting from inside the building.

In conclusion, make no other reservations in Sacramento unless it involves the Amber House.

Room Tip: MOZART room provided the most comfort features
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

On the plus side, the staff were extremely helpful both before and during our stay, holding a parcel that arrived before us, allowing us to arrive late at night after normal check-in time (by way of a key in a lockbox with combination lock), printing Amtrak tickets e-mailed to them and looking after our bags on our last day. The neighbourhood is delightful (and quiet), allowing us to indulge in our favourite pastime of walking and photographing lovely old houses, as well as stocking up on provisions at the nearby supermarket, and walking to restaurants, the light rail etc.
On the minus side, our bed (in the Brahms Room) was not the best to sleep in as when either of us rolled over, got up or returned to bed, the movement of the bed woke the other. The shower took forever to yield hot water in the evenings although was quicker in the mornings. While some bottled water and glasses in the room was a nice touch when we arrived, and the complimentary drinks service to our room was much appreciated, the glasses kept disappearing which meant we couldn’t rehydrate as often as we would like. While the breakfasts were creative, the mixture of croissant, quiche and potatoes on our second morning was rather carbohydrate-rich and the Eggs Benedict on our last morning were leathery with solid yolks. We asked for honey with our coffee but the honey sticks were tricky to get the honey out of.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Two sisters that needed a weekend away from husbands, family, and chaos, that was us. We found serenity and had a lovely weekend at Amber House. We stayed in the Beethoven room and it was very comfortable. The queen size mattress was SO comfortable, that we are looking for the same memory foam topper for our beds at home. From chocolate cookies and tea delivered to our door to the breakfast, the food was great!. One morning we had breakfast in the room, the next morning we ate inside at the house across the street and it was delightful. We walked and shopped all around Sacramento which was what we had in mind. We attended the Sacramento Ballet and the B Street theatre, both within a very short driving distance. The jacuzzi tub felt so good after our shopping days.
These are old victorian homes, so don't expect the amenities to equal a modern hotel. But for a wonderful turn-of-the-century B&B experience with pampering, we recommend the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

lovely service, great location, yummy breakfast on porch, jacuzzi bathtub. pretty perfect for 1 night of relaxing! it started with a full on questionnaire/interview about turndown service, freshbaked cookies for nightcap, breakfast desires, morning coffee wishes. we were upgraded because the room selected the folks wanted to stay another night so that was a good deal. it was quiet but didn't feel uncomfortably so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Typical bed and breakfast. Two houses with rooms named after composers or poets, and vacancies can disappear quickly. Rooms can vary from small to spacious depending on price. Be careful that your reservations may be changed or lost when you arrive. Late check was not allowed per the front desk, but may be dependent on staff. Street parking is abundant, but personal, on-site parking is cramped. Owner and staff are very nice, but amenities are disappointing. Website pictures are no longer accurate. Breakfast, although probably healthy, was unappetizing and there was no choice of options. Area is quiet and proximity to mid-town allows easy access to nearby fare. May be acceptable or pleasant to those who enjoy bed and breakfasts in general, but others would probably do better with alternative accomodations.

Room Tip: Choose the more expensive rooms if you decide to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 716Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmberHouseBB, Owner at Amber House Inn of Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Vinny 712, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Amber House. We would like to find out when you stayed and in which room so we can investigate some of the things you shared about your experience. As other reviewers point out, we do everything possible to meet and exceed guest expectations and we take great pride in the many returning guests we have year after year at Amber House.

A few words on the things you mentioned:

Pictures on website: All our pictures on the website are up to date. Most of our guests even tell us that it looks just like on the website.
Lost Reservation or Room Change: All our rooms are individually decorated and have different sizes and amenities and guests are particular about their choice. For this reason, we do not move guests without prior approval unless we upgrade them to a higher category room, which is usually very much appreciated. We wonder if you booked your reservations through an online travel agency and not directly with the Inn? Some travel agencies do not specify rooms.
Breakfast: Every guest has a choice of a two-course gourmet breakfast or a lighter fare ,such as our homemade granola with yogurt and fresh fruit or an oatmeal. As a 4-Diamond Inn, we accommodate special dietary needs and if our breakfast choices of the day are not to your liking we can certainly accommodate a different choice if requested on arrival.
Late check-out: As a small Inn, our housekeeping staff has set hours during which they clean rooms before the next day’s guests arrive. We can usually confirm if a late check out is available around 11 am on the day of your departure depending on occupancy. Many times we are able to accommodate these requests. If not, we also offer to hold your luggage for you or set you up in the living room/dining room/porch or library if you would like to relax some more before your departure.

We really hope to hear from you so we can address the points you brought up and work on any issues on our side. If not, we hope our explanations will help your understanding of the services we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.8 mi away
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
The Sterling Hotel Sacramento
#43 of 82 in Sacramento
75 reviews
6.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House Inn of Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House Inn of Midtown

Address: 1315 22nd St, between Capitol Ave. & N St, Sacramento, CA 95816-5717 (Formerly Amber House Bed and Breakfast Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sacramento
Price Range: $193 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber House Inn of Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautifully restored historic homes in a quiet-turn-of-the-century neighborhood, seven blocks from the State Capitol and Convention Center. Marble tiled bathrooms with Jacuzzi bathtubs for two, some rooms also feature fireplaces and private patios. Gourmet breakfast at the time of your choice, high speed internet access, parking. The only 4 Diamond Inn in Sacramento is the place for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber House Inn of Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber House b&b Inn
Amber House Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing