We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
356
62
20
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
62
20
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed and breakfast the main house mozart room jacuzzi tub b bs breakfast was delicious heart shaped jacuzzi emily dickenson rose petals on the bed old victorian early morning coffee quiet street within walking distance chocolate chip cookies across the street next morning beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 448 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Have to fly up to sacto for work; for just a couple of days? Ug only good part is staying at the Amber House. CLEAN, georgous rooms, fabulous beds: antique bathtubs and yummy breakfast served in bedroom! Doesnt get much better. Ez walk to capitol and all state offices; several great restaurants within a few blocks for dinner such as Urban Jacks and Waterboy even a small market for stuff you cant carry on plane anymore. Really is the best part of my business trips to Sacto. Did i mention Egyptian cotton sheets and comforters?

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The wife and I are in business together and came to Sacramento to see our print facility on a Monday. We decided to try the Amber House B&B since it was really close to our facility and other attractions in Sacramento.

I've never stayed at a B&B until this visit and no had expectations of what I'd experience trying out this type of stay. When we arrived, it was like walking into a very large house that was well-groomed and classy. After checking in, we went to locate our Mozart room located in their second house across the street.

As my wife opened the door and stepped into the room, I could tell she loved what she saw. Beautiful antique furniture that complemented the hardwood floors. The fireplace presented a classic look and warmed the room perfectly. As my wife looked towards the side the bed was on, she saw rose pedals draped around the bed with a heart-shaped outline of pedals on the bed. Just when the wife didn't believe it could get any better, we opened the door to the bathroom. Beautifully lined marble floors covered the large area. The heart-shaped jacuzzi was a big plus for our trip. We soaked in it for quite a long time that evening.

The topper was the bucket with Chardonnay wined chilled to perfection, sitting along side of the chocolate-covered strawberries. What made this trip worth its weight in gold was also the bed. The bed was extremely comfortable and we woke extremely refreshed. Then, the Amber House delivered a huge breakfast to our room. They served grape fruit, bacon, and french toast in large proportions.

One of the other benefits to the Amber House was the location. The B&B is located about 1 mile from the Capitol. We went there Sunday night and got to peak in the windows and take pictures of how the architecture looks incredible with all the lighting from inside the building.

In conclusion, make no other reservations in Sacramento unless it involves the Amber House.

Room tip: MOZART room provided the most comfort features
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

On the plus side, the staff were extremely helpful both before and during our stay, holding a parcel that arrived before us, allowing us to arrive late at night after normal check-in time (by way of a key in a lockbox with combination lock), printing Amtrak tickets e-mailed to them and looking after our bags on our last day. The neighbourhood is delightful (and quiet), allowing us to indulge in our favourite pastime of walking and photographing lovely old houses, as well as stocking up on provisions at the nearby supermarket, and walking to restaurants, the light rail etc.
On the minus side, our bed (in the Brahms Room) was not the best to sleep in as when either of us rolled over, got up or returned to bed, the movement of the bed woke the other. The shower took forever to yield hot water in the evenings although was quicker in the mornings. While some bottled water and glasses in the room was a nice touch when we arrived, and the complimentary drinks service to our room was much appreciated, the glasses kept disappearing which meant we couldn’t rehydrate as often as we would like. While the breakfasts were creative, the mixture of croissant, quiche and potatoes on our second morning was rather carbohydrate-rich and the Eggs Benedict on our last morning were leathery with solid yolks. We asked for honey with our coffee but the honey sticks were tricky to get the honey out of.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Two sisters that needed a weekend away from husbands, family, and chaos, that was us. We found serenity and had a lovely weekend at Amber House. We stayed in the Beethoven room and it was very comfortable. The queen size mattress was SO comfortable, that we are looking for the same memory foam topper for our beds at home. From chocolate cookies and tea delivered to our door to the breakfast, the food was great!. One morning we had breakfast in the room, the next morning we ate inside at the house across the street and it was delightful. We walked and shopped all around Sacramento which was what we had in mind. We attended the Sacramento Ballet and the B Street theatre, both within a very short driving distance. The jacuzzi tub felt so good after our shopping days.
These are old victorian homes, so don't expect the amenities to equal a modern hotel. But for a wonderful turn-of-the-century B&B experience with pampering, we recommend the stay.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

lovely service, great location, yummy breakfast on porch, jacuzzi bathtub. pretty perfect for 1 night of relaxing! it started with a full on questionnaire/interview about turndown service, freshbaked cookies for nightcap, breakfast desires, morning coffee wishes. we were upgraded because the room selected the folks wanted to stay another night so that was a good deal. it was quiet but didn't feel uncomfortably so.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews