We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
356
61
20
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
61
20
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastthe main housemozart roomjacuzzi tubb bsbreakfast was deliciouschocolate covered strawberriesquiet streetwithin walking distanceacross the streeteach morningnext morningwonderful stayhome away from homeoatmealbusiness tripfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 447 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were married six years ago, and spent our wedding night at Amber House, in the Mozart Room. My wonderful husband picked this place as a surprise. Judith was very accommodating to his request of a late check in (after 10:00 pm). He was able to pick up the key and "check in" the day before our wedding. When we arrived, there were rose petals on the canopy bed, hot tea, cookies, and flameless "candles" around the Jacuzzi bathtub. What a wonderful, memorable night as husband and wife...we were so impressed with the room and the amenities. The staff knew that we would be leaving VERY early for a flight to our honeymoon destination, and while it was too early for the regular breakfast, they did serve us hot oatmeal with milk, sugar, walnuts, raisins, and a yummy fresh fruit salad with their lemon poppyseed dressing. Hot tea, coffee, and fresh-squeezed OJ too. Their croissants (we had those at a later stay) are SO GOOD!! Warm and flaky.
The bed is a queen size and just perfect to cuddle close with the warm fire crackling and the down (alternative? not sure) comforter keeping you perfectly warm. The mattress is very comfortable. We asked the innkeeper the next year, and went and bought the same memory foam topper they have on their mattress, and we love it! We always sleep very well when we stay there. Robes are nice and warm for lazing around the room. TV/DVD player is very nice. We have stayed at Amber House for all our anniversaries, some Valentine's days, and some just because (again, wonderful husband "kidnapped" me and took me to Amber House for the weekend a couple times as a surprise). Once the Mozart room was booked, and we stayed in the Beethoven Room (across the hall), and another time we stayed in the Brahms room (smaller). Both houses are charming, turn-of-the-century designs. Some people have complained about squeaking and creaking at night. Bear in mind, they are both old houses, and have limitations that modern homes don't. If you need absolutely no noise, then home is your best bet, or a cottage/vacation rental.
This past stay we had a couple's massage in our room! (Only available for Mozart/Beethoven rooms). What a wonderful service!
We also recommend Biba restaurant for dinner, which is just down the street (reservations definitely recommended!).
Thank you, Amber House, for giving us a romantic couple's retreat every time we stay!

Room Tip: We love the Mozart room!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have to say, I am not the easiest customer to please. These guys did it, they deserve a medal! We were greeted promptly, accessed our room – customized and prepared exactly as I had requested, added items to our turn-down service on schedule, morning beverages arrived at our door on-time, and breakfast was great, even when we threw last-minute changes at them. BTW I've NEVER had a hotel meet my foodie expectations - another first.

Chocolate strawberries, Port Wine, Candles around the Jaquzzi Tub - all delivered on-time. AND I only gave them a couple hours’ notice! Amazing!

I tip my hat to Amber house and their warm, welcoming staff.

If you have a choice to stay in the area - GO HERE.

Room Tip: There are a choice of rooms, every one is different. Get a room in the main house upstairs if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff is very friendly and kind. They're very accommodating for anything you might need- for example, they offer a ride to and from the airport (for a fee), but we only needed a ride one-way, so they cut the cost in half for us. They offer complimentary drinks and cookies in the evening, as well as a fantastic breakfast in the morning.
The room we stayed in (Lord Byron) was well-furnished and came with DirecTV, a DVD player, and wifi. The bathroom has a great bathtub/shower, and we could smell breakfast cooking in the morning as an extra bonus.
My wife especially enjoyed the reading room, with books, movies, and games to use and check out. It's less than a mile from the Capitol Building, and surrounded by antique houses and a variety of restaurants within walking distance.
We've already been twice and will probably go again in the future. Very good experience for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Amber house is an awesome place to stay, that makes you feel so pampered and refreshed. We stayed here on our wedding night 21 yrs ago and have returned several times, the last time staying in the same room we did 21 yrs ago. Every stay has been wonderful, always clean, wonderful breakfast, attention to detail. We got the Bst theater special and enjoyed the theatre before eating dinner at the Waterboy and then coming back to the Amber House, the next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast on the porch watching the hummingbirds and the downtown atmosphere. Such a wonderful place I would reccommend it to anyone looking for a place to get away and feel pampered for an evening.......

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank them0mmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

really a cool , cozzy place to stay. built in 1905, so it has charactor! the receptionist was really cool and sweet. the food was great and the bed was really really confortable . that i really loved!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews