We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
356
61
20
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
61
20
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastthe main housemozart roomjacuzzi tubb bsbreakfast was deliciouschocolate covered strawberriesquiet streetwithin walking distanceacross the streeteach morningnext morningwonderful stayhome away from homeoatmealbusiness tripfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 447 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff is very friendly and kind. They're very accommodating for anything you might need- for example, they offer a ride to and from the airport (for a fee), but we only needed a ride one-way, so they cut the cost in half for us. They offer complimentary drinks and cookies in the evening, as well as a fantastic breakfast in the morning.
The room we stayed in (Lord Byron) was well-furnished and came with DirecTV, a DVD player, and wifi. The bathroom has a great bathtub/shower, and we could smell breakfast cooking in the morning as an extra bonus.
My wife especially enjoyed the reading room, with books, movies, and games to use and check out. It's less than a mile from the Capitol Building, and surrounded by antique houses and a variety of restaurants within walking distance.
We've already been twice and will probably go again in the future. Very good experience for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Amber house is an awesome place to stay, that makes you feel so pampered and refreshed. We stayed here on our wedding night 21 yrs ago and have returned several times, the last time staying in the same room we did 21 yrs ago. Every stay has been wonderful, always clean, wonderful breakfast, attention to detail. We got the Bst theater special and enjoyed the theatre before eating dinner at the Waterboy and then coming back to the Amber House, the next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast on the porch watching the hummingbirds and the downtown atmosphere. Such a wonderful place I would reccommend it to anyone looking for a place to get away and feel pampered for an evening.......

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank them0mmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

really a cool , cozzy place to stay. built in 1905, so it has charactor! the receptionist was really cool and sweet. the food was great and the bed was really really confortable . that i really loved!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Amber house welcomes you with questions about your preferences, including what's for breakfast, and can provide a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in your room. The house is a beautifully restored craftsman style house on a quiet street very close to the center of restaurant row in midtown, so it is possible to walk to and from dinner if you like. The staff and owners were friendly and we chatted about restoring older houses after breakfast. The room and bed were very comfortable with older furnishings from the era. We will probably go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wineprof91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I planned a romantic night here for me and my boyfriend before he moved across the country for college. I wanted to create a really special and romantic memory for him to hold onto until the next time we'd see each other. Originally, I had planned on booking the Mozart room, but decided to go with the Vivaldi instead. I am so glad we did! The Vivaldi is on the second floor with a private balcony that overlooks the garden area. We spent most of our night outside relaxing and looking at the stars. We had the rose petal service, sparkling apple cider, chocolate covered strawberries, a couples' massage and the candlelit bath as well. The room was beautiful upon arrival and the chocolate covered strawberries and apple cider were both divine. The massage therapists arrived at 6:30 and set up in our room and then proceeded to give us a very relaxing hour long massage. When that was finished, my boyfriend and I walked down the street for dinner and when we arrived back, we were met with warm chocolate chip cookies & milk (SO GOOD) and our candlelit bath. Breakfast the next morning was delivered to our private balcony: scrambled eggs with cream cheese and sauteed onions, seasoned potatoes, and fresh fruit with poppy seed dressing. All delicious. Honestly, I couldn't have made this night any more special if I had tried. Be sure to read the entries in the journal (you can find it on one of the side tables) and write your own! Also, once you put on the super comfortable robe, you'll never take it off. We plan on coming back when he's on winter break and back in California. Thanks so much for the wonderful staff and amazing night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katelynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews