We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gunther's: an Ice Cream Dream!!!”

Gunther's Quality Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 62 Dessert in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gunther's: an Ice Cream Dream!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

HatMan Geno here - this time thoroughly enjoying the absolutely deliciously abundant and rich creamy GUNTHER's ICE CREAM at 3rd and Franklin in mid-town Sacramento, CA. As thoise of you who know, I have a "5 Hats" rating system based upon how well someplace delivers what you would expect that sort of establishment to be. And GUNTHER's is a full "5 Hatter" in every way, and then some.
The FOOD -
As you can see from the menu, this is a relatively full neighborhood restaurant menu. However, as this was my first visit here, my wife and I chose the item that apparently earned GUNTHER's its reputation: the Ice Cream. I'll start with YUM - in capitals and shouted! The flavors are numerous, and we shared 4 between us (pistachio, rum raisin, butter pecan, rocky road. HUGE scoops, just the perfect frozen consistency for immediate eating, and DELICIOUS almost to the equivalent of a real Italian gelato. One scoop is likely all you'll need...unless you want to have it as your lunch or dinner. In a word: EXCELLENT.
The ATMOSPHERE -
This was as equally as impressive as the Ice Cream itself; It's a trip back into the 1960s. It's clean, "campy", friendly, well lighted, and has classic 60s Rock-n-roll playing both inside and outside at the sidewalk tables, but via speakers that are just loud enough to provide background ambiance, but low enough to encourage and enhance normal volume speaking conversation.
The VALUE / PRICE -
Well worth the $2.70 for a single cone (consider the waffle cone for an additional 50 cents - its a classic).
CONSLUSION -
What ever the age of the "kids": 5...15...55... or 95 years old, this place is a true treat and well worth the visit. There's a good chance there will be a line out the door when you arrive, but it moves quickly and is well worth it.
So...
Until next time, this is Hat Man Geno...I'll see you from the road!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HatManGeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    74
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
“This Place is UNIQUE”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Gunther's Ice Cream is a "Sacramento Tradition". It has been in business SINCE 1940 serving Sacramento up some of the BEST HOMEMADE ICE CREAM and frozen treats ever tasted. They are located in the middle of a older Sacramento neighborhood where families and friends meet to have dessert. On top of their building sits an animated neon sign (Life size) that throws ice cream across the air into an ice cream cone. THIS PLACE IS AMAZING.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ONLY for the Freeze!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am STILL a great fan of Merlino's Freeze and was soooo sad upon my trip back to Sacramento after 8 years to find the usual locations in midtown Sac all closed. I looked up a review of Gunther's and it seemed to stand up pretty well to Merlino's great reputation. My husband tried a pineapple, orange freeze with ice cream in the middle, but I'm a purist so I just had a pineapple, orange and strawberry freeze. Overall, this was really refreshing and good... I especially love the pineapple and strawberry with bits of the fruit you can chew on. Nothing negative to say at all... but, was it as good as Merlino's?? Not in my opinion, but mighty close!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAunderia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Malts and Ice Cream”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This has to be some of the best ice cream in the world. I recommend the chocolate malts, the half and half freezes and the plain vanilla ice cream to take home for pies, cake, etc. Expect a line and avoid the pistachio ice cream as it seems to have pieces of candy in it and tastes very artificial. Also wasn't thrilled with the banana ice cream as it just wasn't that great.

There is also a place called "What the Scoop" that sells every thing that Gunther's sells at the exact same prices., but rarely has a line and has even better service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GwenSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Local ICECREAM EVER”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Expect a wait, but it is worth the time invested. Love this place.Hard to find Parking sometimes, and if it is hot, and the line is out the door you might think about passing, but stick it out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank melyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunther's Quality Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Gunther's Quality Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing