We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is my home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is my home away from home”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love this place! Adriana is friendly, helpful, and patient. Whenever I arrive she always checks to see if she can go the extra mile. The Residence Inn at Capitol Park is my home away from home, and all of the staff does their best to make me comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majikred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    203
    63
    26
    15
See reviews for
193
113
41
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice, modern room. Good and roomy lobby. Some action outside the doors. Easy parking. Generally does not feel like a Residence Inn, until you get into the room and see the kitchen...it's almost a surprise!

Good option in Sacramento, and highly recommended. It would be right for families, but most of my fellow guests were doing business downtown.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have stayed here twice before. The location is good as you can walk to bars and restaurants. The room is excellent as others have stated and the service was efficient and polite.

With all of the positives, why won't we be back? First of all how many Residence Inns charge for parking? None others that I have been to, but this one tacks on $17/night and it is not prominent when you make the reservation. It is loud! I know urban hotels will be a bit louder, but this hotel had noise, inside and out, until 4:30 in the morning. Not a good night's sleep. The last straw was the security guard in the lobby at 5am as we were leaving. How safe is the area if the hotel needs a security guard? By the way, the security guard did not offer to walk us out to our car, past the smelly garbage, on the 7th floor of the parking structure. Clearly the guard is there for the employees and to protect the lobby, not the guests. This hotel does not represent the Residence Inn brand at all.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinBuildsWireless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! I do apologize for your disappointment, you are correct not many Residence Inn's charge for parking but not many are in downtown locations. Unfortunately, the hotel does not own the parking garage, we have a contract to rent spaces in the garage. I can tell you we charge less for our parking than the other hotels in the downtown area. As far as security, all hotels downtown have security. It is necessary as a high rise building and meant to aid the hotel staff in the event of an emergency or occasionally to prevent parties from taking place in our guest rooms; I do apologize if this left you with an uneasy feeling. I do appreciate your feedback and I did share this with our team.

Sincerely,

Shelly Moranville

Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a 2 night stay and the room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The air conditioner was pretty darn loud but necessary to have on with Sacramento temps in the summer. Food in this neighborhood is close to non existence after 10pm unless you're willing to drive or just need a snack from the onsite store. We did find a great pizza place who would deliver to the hotel (Pizza Rock). We could see some girl tossing her cookies on the street below, we guess because there is a lot of drinking options, but no food to soak it up!



The hotel's FireSide lounge was really loud and the female bartender forgot our drinks! When my husband finally got her attention, she said she would only charge us for one drink, took our money and never came back with the change. I guess she assumed she should get a 2 $ tip. Rude and the drinks were just mediocre.



Free breakfast was not worth it. Eggs tasted like FISH? So did the Casaba Mellon! Only thing good was the pastries and toast. Went out to breakfast elsewhere the 2nd morning so we could actually have a meal. My biggest gripe however is with my Marriott Elite status, we were not even offered free Wifi and when I asked for a late check out, they wanted $75! $75 for an hour is ridiculous and I thought my "status" provided me a late check out. Normally I would have pre-cleaned the room before I left but not this time. I will not go back to this Marriott and I definitely won't recommend it either.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suite, Capital Park view was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hookedonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was in Sacramento on a business trip for 1 night and this is where my company chose to have us stay. Residence Inn has everything I could want in a hotel and I just wish I would have had more time to enjoy it. My room was immaculate, with state of the art fixtures and décor,and a beautiful flat screen that rolls out right in front of a big comfortable King Size bed. There were plenty of channel selections, current movies and interactive games to choose from. The bathroom was fully stocked and the kitchenette has a huge refrigerator, full stove and plenty of cabinet space (of course you might expect this from a Residence Inn, but the quality of everything was quite impressive). I immediately wanted to stay for a week upon entering the room.

My co-workers and I went out to a highly recommended local resteraunt, which was walking distance from the hotel. I must say I was much more impressed with Sacramento's nightlife than I expected to be and this Residence Inn is right in the thick of the scene. After a fantastic meal, unfortunately we had to return to the hotel as we had an early business meeting. I was able to wake up early and take advantage of the workout room, which also had state of the art machines, and afterwards hit the Jacuzzi. After enjoying that experience, I showered & went to breakfast, and I have to say if this was not the BEST complimentary breakfast spread I've ever had at a hotel, it certainly is close. My biggest regret was checking out after such an enjoyable experience and I HIGHLY recommend Residence Inn for anyone planning to stay in Downtown Sacramento for ANY period of time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Wow! I stayed at the Residence Inn for two months. The staff was amazing. I would like to thank Virginia, Tim, Adriana, Marisa, Esperanza, Dominique, Maria, Emma, Margarita, Cesar, Toby, Cindy and Linda. Forgive me if I've forgotten any one. These are the people who make you want to stay. The location is convenient to shopping, the Capitol, great local restaurants that offer some fabulous food, and is pedestrian friendly. I believe the staff made me feel like I was at home. They even gave me a birthday gift. Thank you all

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review, I couldn't have agreed more and what perfect timing we just rolled out a new incentive program for our team to earn points when their name is listed in a review for good service! I gave away a lot of points for your review. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you when you return to Sacramento.

Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great room with full amenities. Hotel is close to shopping, dining, and fun. Staff was polite and helpful. All in all a wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend. Wish I could have had the continental breakfast. I hear it is out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,612 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Property: Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Address: 1121 15th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's newly renovated Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our just remodeled 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing