We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Downtown Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
193 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Downtown Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

If you need to work downtown, this is a very good location. The staff are well trained and the breakfast is generous (but typical for a Marriott). The internet connection is reliable and easy. The local cafe/bar is comfortable. Parking is convenient and reasonably priced ($17). It's a favorite of mine for Sacramento.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank acoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    169
    51
    22
    11
See reviews for
160
86
38
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room was small, but the staff was so helpful, willing to replace a tv remote, or bring towels during all parts of our stay. There was a morning breakfast buffet that was clean and had a variety of items every day. There was a restaurant/bar combo right in the hotel. Parking was convenient and was affordable for the downtown Sacramento area at only $17.00/day. There was work out facilities that included free weights, treadmills, elliptical machines and bikes. There was an outdoor pool and hot tub. If you are staying on a weekend, I recommend asking for an inside room since the rooms facing the main streets are loud due to the restaurants and bars the hotel is located near.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a weekend, I recommend asking for an inside room since the rooms facing the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

stayed 3 nights last weekend....spacious rooms, good amemities, got a high floor with great view of capital building and park....parking a bit of a pain in adjacant bldg but not that bad...good central location....breakfast was ok...only made it once....staff always greeted us and bartenders were friendly and made great local suggestions.....would visit again....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is in a prime location and has features that make extended stay very convenient including kitchen. Stayed in two different rooms during my stay, a suite with two rooms and a standard king. Kitchen amenities were great in both. The suite had a spectacular view of the capital and rose gardens. The suite had a room with 2 beds, one room with a king, and a sofa bed in the living area. The sofa bed was not comfortable - no surprise. There was a lot of 'food' in the bed, when I opened it, as if it had not been opened/cleaned in a year. In the suite, both bathrooms and all closets are in the bedrooms. It would be more practical for there to be a bathroom and a closet with access via the common area.

The reservation staff seemed to have trouble keeping their commitments and finding records. Had made requests for housekeeping items and they never delivered.

Room Tip: Southwest corner has views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The Thirteenth Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am so terribly sorry this was your experience, I will definately share your comments with our housekeeping and front desk teams so these things do not occur in the future. We do hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Sacramento!

Again, my apologies!

Shelly Moranville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just completed a two night midweek stay, and were generally satisfied with the experience.

Pluses:
Spacious rooms, recently renovated and sparkling clean
Kitchen facilities in each room, with ample utensils and dinnerware
Prompt room service, good quality, and reasonably priced

Minuses:
-The beds were a memory foam-type mattress, but VERY firm. No pillow-top.
-Parking was a hassle. Only on 6th and 7th floors of garage, then had to take elevator to ground level, cross an alley, and enter hotel lobby and go back up another elevator to your room.
- Wifi was spotty and slow both in our room and in the lobby. 2 of the 3 guest computers in the lounge area were out of service during our entire stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGSEATTLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recently had a long term stay for business with these folks and it was fantastic! The hotel was always clean, rooms always taken care of and warm greetings daily. Being away from home and family for 10 months is enough to make me crazy but the staff here made me feel like I belonged and each time my family came to visit me they made them feel the same way. My son had so much fun with the staff he even went with them to deliver room service on a couple occasions. My wife actually had built good friendships with some and still stays in touch with them.

To sum it up, any time I go to the Sacramento area there is no question of where you will find me!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimG537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to make sure each of our guests feels like a member of our family and not just a room number! We know how hard it is for anyone to be away from thier families but especially for our long term guests. It is wonderful to know our staff did just that for you and your family. I will be sure to share you review with the team so they know their efforts are being recognized by our guests.

Thanks Again!

Shelly Moranville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you decide to tour historic state buildings and the capital, you could stay at the Residence Inn. You would be nearby many restaurants and can walk to most downtown locations. The front desk staff was friendly, but the breakfast was boring. When you are in Sacramento, you feel as though you have entered the land time forgot. I'm not surprised some of our governors don't want to live in the state capital.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritzikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks for your review, we are always delighted to receive feedback so we can continue to improve. I have spoken to our breakfast team to ensure the standards are being met everyday. Our complimentary breakfast buffet should include hot scrambled eggs, usually potato pancakes, sausage and a specialty item like fresh made breakfast burritos. Along with those hot items there should always be fresh fruit, fresh made yogurt parfaits and belgium waffles not to mention the cold basic items like cereal etc. I am really dissapointed this was not your breakfast experience and have taken the necessary steps to correct this.

When you come back this way give me a call I would love to share with you the rich history or beautiful city has to offer and point you in the direction of must see venues such as the new Crocker Art Museum or one of the finest Railroad museums in the country.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to see you next time you are in Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
3.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Property: Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Address: 1121 15th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-4011
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's newly renovated Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our just remodeled 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing