We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 15, 2012

very comfortable hotel and great location for walking around downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 847 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

Enjoyed my stay. Here are a list of the many pros and just a few cons for the Residence Inn located in Downtown Sacramento:

Pros: HUGE living space (includes kitchen, living room, separate bedroom, and bathroom), two phones (one beside your bed, one on the desk in the living room), plenty of storage space (under the sink, dresser in the bedroom, storage cabinet under the TV in the living room). The kitchen is equipped with a full-size stainless steel fridge, dishwasher (and dishwasher detergent, sponge, scrub brush, and dish soap), four sets of all dishes (cups, plates, bowls, silverware, pots and pans), granite counter tops, complimentary microwave popcorn and a cute popcorn bowl to put it in. The room is decorated in warm colors, decorative pillows, modern decor, and vases (including one filled with tasty candy!). The bathroom (outside the bathroom so two people can share the space more comfortably) is equipped with Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner, plenty of towels and wash clothes, and a non-slip mat for the bathtub. The living room includes a pullout couch and leather recliner. There's free WI-fi that doesn't require a password. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and includes eggs, breakfast sandwiches, bagels, pastries, juices, waffles with toppings, fresh fruit, yogurt, and even parfait; all served on real plates!

Now for just a couple cons: the leather recliner in my room was very worn and there were some tears, the bedroom is pretty narrow, there were two TVs but no DVD player, and the gym does not have TVs visible from most of the machines, parking is $17/day.

Overall, this hotel was great. It's surrounded by restaurants and businesses within walking distance and is right next to the capital building and it's beautiful park.

Room Tip: Request a room up high and within view of the capital building.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxegurl266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel and we certainly hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely, Shelly Moranville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Great value hotel in downtown Sac. Good breakfasts and happy hours by the hotel but the best part is being within walking distance to so many other bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Everything about this hotel was perfect. The hotel, room and surrounding area was clean. The beds were comfortable, and the free breakfast each morning was delicious, not like free breakfast at other hotels we have stayed at. The staff was helpful and friendly. I was allowed to check out several hours after regular check-out time without any problem. The location is great too.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on the upper floors (there are 12) because it is quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaSPembrokePines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was my first stay and, while not the Hyatt, it was comfortable and clean. Each suite has a full kitchen and sitting area. Since I was on a two -night business trip, I did not need to use it, but it would have come in handy for a longer stay or travels with family. The morning breakfast was simple but completely sufficient. The location across from the Capitol Park is nice. Parking can be a challenge. They have a small, clean exercise room which was adequate for a quick stay. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UniversityTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Across from the State Capitol, the room offers a refrigerator, cooking and plenty of room to relax, watch TV and communicate. Nothing fancy, but ample. Downsides: Parking is next door but not attached, so you have to check in and then park your car for a separate fee. While the check-in and gratis morning buffet (modest, but enough) staff are great, the evening folks attending the bar can be a bit cold. Timing and pricing discounts are key here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

It was a great stay near Capitol Park. Staff was friendly and accomodating. The blower for air conditioner/fan was loud; But everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudyCJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoranvi, General Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thank you for your review; I do apologize the fan was loud in your room and hopefully you let the team know upon your departure. If you did not get a chance please reach out to us so we can be sure it is properly repaired and others are not impacted as you were. It is after all the little things that matter the most! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Shelly Moranville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,662 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park

Address: 1121 15th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $180 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Sacramento's newly renovated Residence Inn that offers a full service experience in the heart of Downtown. Conveniently located one block from the State Capitol and the Convention Center, our downtown location offers world class restaurants, theaters, museums and city wide events all within walking distance. This beautiful 15-story hotel offers 235 spacious suites that include fully-equipped kitchens, living rooms with plenty of space for relaxing & entertaining. Our just remodeled 3 Fires Lounge located just off the lobby offers a lunch and dinner menu as well as in room dining. We make your stay more enjoyable with complimentary grocery shopping & on-site laundry facilities. Don't forget to join us for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. Relax by our pool or soak in the spa to melt tensions away. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in exceeding your every expectation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown At Capitol Park Hotel Sacramento
Residence Inn Capitol Park
Sacramento Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing