We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel while we attended the County Fair. This has pro and cons..
pros: only one mile from CalExpo
very clean
friendly staff (except the lady serving breakfast on Memorial day)
price was great

Cons: 1. offers shuttle service within a 7 mile radius, but because of the discounted rate was told we could not get shuttle service for the MILE drive to CalExpo
2. had scrambled eggs available on Thursday and Friday, but was told not available on weekends.
3. one day, the breakfast area ran out of pepper, the next day they ran out of sugar...the place was packed, they should have anticipated this
4. PARKING!!!!! very poor parking, place was so packed, cars were parked in the middle of the cul de sac, or you had to park down close to the street

would I stay here again...Probably, just aware of how each day the change their services.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Ann

Thank you for your feedback. With group rates, different amenties and some restrictions are involved. Unfortunately it was not communicated clearly with your team and we apologize for that. We appreciate your feedback and it will be passed onto the sales team.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We hope to see you soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to Sacramento for work for at least 3 months. We thought the Towneplace Suites at Cal Expo would fill our needs. They are dog friendly, with clean bedroom suites. We were immediately greeted upon check in by a surly gal who informed us our room would not be ready for "at least two hours". No smile, no customer service.
Should have known by the greeting that their customer service was subpar. The only redeeming ray of sunshine is Jessica who went out of her way for us.
Just about every other employee at the front desk we ran across in the 6 weeks we stayed there was unfriendly and down right rude.
I would like to add that the sales lady Amy will tell you anything you want to hear and then won't be there to back it up. Ex. Amy told a friend of ours upon specific request before booking that the pool area was dog friendly. After the second day we were kicked out quite rudely by an employee. No smile and "I'm so sorry guys but we have had some complaints about your dog". Just get your dog out of here now.
If you are looking for a place who will give your taxes back after 30 consecutive days (like the law says) you are looking at the wrong place. This property has its own tax policy which apparently supersedes the state and county laws of 30 days. They give you your month of taxes back after 90 days.
We have moved on to the Larkspur Landing and wish we had made the move much earlier.
There is a lot to be said for employees who are happy to go to work, put a smile on their face and go out of their way to make a person's day better...not worse.
Greatly disappointed by my stay at this Marriott which makes never want to stay at one of their properties again.

Wonder what I can do with 50 days of Marriott rewards....besides stay at a Marriott property.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank 744jennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Jenny,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo.

You indicated that your stay with us was unpleasant. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,
Aarti Ram.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I love this hotel! This was a great stay. Nice rooms. Good location near the mall and Cal Expo. Cannot recommend this enough.

Gladys in the housekeeping department is fantastic. She was so friendly and made my stay that much better!

Awesome spot and wouldn't hesitate to return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatBGuye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that your stay with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The only reason I give this hotel 5 stars is because of jessica at the front desk. I have been staying here Sunday and Monday night for 4 weeks because of training. I had issues checking in on one of the nights. I told Jessica the next morning and she went out of her way to quickly resolve my issue. I was extremely satisfied with her service. She also refunded my meal allowance credit card that was used to pay my stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Justin,

We are delighted that your stay with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We hope to see you soon.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Not a resort or a luxury hotel (no heavenly bed) The pool is pretty plain and small. We had a two bed rooms suite ant it was large, comfortable and clean. The bath room was a little small but adequate ..The staff was the nicest people in town and a real pleasure to deal with. The limo took us all over (five miles radius) enough for the Capitol and a big mall and restaurants..Very convenient.. the parking is free thats a plus too..Best value in town..

Room Tip: Rooms on the West side are quieter, trains are frequent and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchy20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that your stay with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We hope to see you soon,
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Checked in late after an hour drive. Needless to say I was tired especially since I was in traffic due to the Easter holiday and road construction. I was greeted by Jessica and she was very pleasant. It is quite obvious she enjoys her job. She has excellent customer service skills. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camarochick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that your stay with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We hope to see you soon,
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

There was some confusion going on within the administration of the hotel while we were there. The front desk seemed unaware that the (large, comfortable, 2-bedroom) suite they had assigned us to was being painted! They put us next door, but the smell of paint and the general inconvenience of stepping through a renovation site (new carpets, etc.) was not great. I had booked at $109 + taxes/night, but noticed that they were advertising their rooms @ $89/night. After we left, I telephoned the general manager, Ms. Aarti Ram, and was delighted to be told that she would refund me the difference. THAT is good service!

Room Tip: If you are a large family, try for the 2-bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AartiRam, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that your stay with the TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We hope to see you soon,
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
#10 of 83 in Sacramento
503 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
2.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 83 in Sacramento
463 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo

Address: 1784 Tribute Road, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range: $113 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether staying for few days or a few months, our TownePlace Suites is a place to help you feel settled in while you're on the road. Starting with our roomy suites that come fully loaded with the essentials such as free Wi-Fi, ergonomic work desks and plush bedding. Beyond the essentials, our suites also feature the comforts of home - fully equipped kitchens, spacious closets and daily hot breakfast will keep your routine alive. Add in our warm, friendly service around-the-clock and you’ll have everything you need to unpack, unwind and live life uninterrupted. When you’re ready to venture out, our helpful staff will give you the scoop on the best local finds just outside our doors. Family fun is just minutes away at Cal Expo, Raging Waters and the Arden Fair Mall. Alternatively, stay a while. We've got a 24/7 fitness center for quick cardio sessions, a seasonal outdoor pool to calm the heart rate and the 24/7 Market to keep midnight cravings at bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing