We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay at this hotel went pretty flawlessly. Check in was a breeze, front desk staff is friendly and efficient (they even let us check in at around 1:30pm). Be advised they will place a hold of $20 a night for incidentals on your card. It is sandwiched in between 2 other marriott properties (town place and Fairfield), but the area was fine and we didnt feel unsafe but found Sacramento as a whole not a great vacation destination. We did not hear the trains or traffic as our room did not face the road, but ear plugs were provided. Nice amenities in the room, super clean, nice television, coffee maker and mini fridge. Lots of free parking. Small pool area, but fine to get wet. There is a small sundry store and bar with deli style food off the lobby area. Highly recommend property.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mittyskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    125
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
79
54
30
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Moe, Araceli and Kevin were very professional curteous and friendly. everybody answerd numerous questions and were gracious and happy to give answers. They are an asset to your hotel they made my visit more enjoyable!!!!!!!

Room Tip: if youre ADA needy, be sure and request hanicap room the walkin shower is hudge and awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This Hotel was above other for cleanness and king size bed was a plus . Most of the time, the room was very quiet, except for late night /early morning when other people were talking outside the Hotel.This hotel is right next to UP main railroad line and trains travel all time at night or Early morning. I really like the free wi-fi internet service .
I found the bed not too firm , and kind on the soft size . The Ac worked very well and you could even set it on a thermostat , make sure the room stay cool . When Me and My wife got into the room, first thing I did was turn on the Ac for the room . That day in Sacramento, it got up about 103 in temperature

here are things that are make this Hotel, not the best for the Price
My wife and I , were not very happy that for the cost of the room , there was no free Breakfast offer.
This hotel is right next to UP main railroad line (1/4 Mile or less) trains travel all time at night or Early morning, So you will need your earplugs, if you plan on getting 6-8 hours of sleep . Hotel didn't even offer free earplugs as part of Guess stuff , like soap or shampoo .

Enclosing , we will be looking for better Hotel for the price , on our next time me and My wife head north . we were charge over $150 per night + tax and did even get a free Breakfast. We have been to Hotel , that were a lot lower in price and still got a free Breakfast . Marriott corp would do good , if they added the free Breakfast to the service that a person pay for .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Operations Manager at Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Steven,
Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel with other travelers.
We're sorry to hear you were unhappy that the rate didn't include breakfast. We do offer packages that include breakfast for 2 adults and 2 children. If you would like to contact me directly, I would be happy to look over your reservation and discuss a possible rebate. Due to the anonymous nature of this site, I have no way of researching your reservation without having the full registration name.

Sincerely,
Joanne







Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Overall the hotel is great, construction was the only problem at this hotel, Staff was great and the
hotel room need renovations, great location and lots of restaurant and shopping close by!Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquesd1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we had a very nice stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and the a/c worked very well :) will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazeleyes7704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The property's web site says there is a shuttle to local businesses....not exactly. When I checked-in, I asked about it, and it seemed if I had asked when the next Shuttle was leaving for Mars. I mentioned that it showed on the Marriott's web site, but, after the Staffer did some checking, could not find it.

After returning home, I found on the web site where it heralds a free shuttle, and included a screen shot, below.

This interaction set the tone for the rest of the stay. I had counted on using the shuttle to get to the State Fair so that I wouldn't have to walk in 90 degree heat, or, under a dark underpass.

Also, no where on the information about the property does it say that whistle blowing trains go past the property in the middle of the night. I didn't know why there was a set of ear plugs on the office desk, now, I know why.

Breakfast included the standard Marriott bagel that doubles as cement blocks in construction.

King bed was ok, no sore back. Property was generally clean and the room had a nice smell to it - not hospital-like, nor, overly scented.

Wireless internet was strong enough to stream Netflix and there was a lot of DirecTV channels to choose from

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last year during the fair with 3 pre-teens. Great room for a family of 5. Two queen beds, and a large pull out. The room was very spacious and updated. Not a romantic hotel. Nice little bar/bistro area. Updated and changed from last year. The wall has been removed and little areas with tv's installed as you eat. Free computer access as well. The bistro is open from early morning until 10pm. You can order quick and small bites, to more elaborate meals. Not very inexpensive. We loved the pool last year, this year I felt I needed to let future customers know that it was not very clean. Lots of build up along the bottom and the tiles. Needs to have a serious deep cleaning!! After a long day at the fair a nice cool swim for us and the kiddies sounded nice, but not with that green algae build up. Other than that. all was ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
2.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo

Property: Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Address: 1782 Tribute Rd, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Marriott
Sacramento Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing