We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a family weekend - demographics of guests a little sketchy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I don’ mind paying a little more money for a little better experience or neighborhood. I elected to pay $25 per night more than a neighboring Courtyard. This is a nicer hotel than Natoma. But the demographics of the guests were a little less positive. When I speak of demographics, I speak of behavior. In the common area. In the hallways. Outside the parking lot. These all speak to the total experience.
All that shared, this is still a very nice hotel worth a 3.5. I wish they would move this to Natoma area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CARainmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 493 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

I do a lot of traveling for work and stay at a lot of hotels. And this hotel has been the best of the best. Very clean and very accommodating. Such a friendly staff that is always ready to go that extra mile to make your stay the best. Especially Moe. He was awesome!!! So charismatic and helpful. The location of the hotel is very convenient to wherever you might need to go. If I come back to Sacramento, I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days. Check in was quick and painless, we are smokers and since this is a smoke free hotel they put us next to an exit for easy access to the outside which wasn't noisy at all. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us out with everything we needed. If there was any complaint i had it would be with the restaurant/bar. Food was sub par at best. When we checked in it was late and didn't feel like going out for food so we ordered at the bar. Food took forever and wasn't that great. We tried the breakfast in the morning and it was also bad. Taste was pretty bland. We stopped eating there after that. But as far as rooms and service it was great. Location was also good. About 10 minutes away from everything we did (Discovery Park (concert), Zoo, Old Sacramento) we were very pleased. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B-Walker-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are looking for a perfectly quiet room, then it may be trouble here. Trains run by in the neighborhood. Fortunately we were on the far side, but if you are a light sleeper, this may be a problem.

Also, like many hotels, the AC is a standalone unit in the room that cycles on and off all night long. Not central AC here.

And not included breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMcCart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I like the location, convenient to freeway access, but not close enough to hear the traffic noise. Close to the Arden Mall and Cal Expo grounds. Good restaurants on Howe Ave. it was very clean, staff helpful & cheerful, and breakfast was fine. We ate one night at the hotel. The menu was limited but what we had was very good. The beds were very comfortable, foam mattresses.
I know a train track runs nearby, but our room was quiet. I will definitely stay there again when we are in Sacramento.
When we left, I accidentally left an item in the room, I phoned & it was found & promptly mailed to me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doolittlespots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Property is well maintained, clean, efficient, and standard Courtyard. Note that AAA discount rates do not include breakfast. Nothing is within walking distance around the location, a business park adjacent to the freeway, so a car is essential to the relatively short trips downtown for dining or shopping.

Room Tip: Weigh cost of breakfast again room discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pendolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed at Courtyard Cal Expo during a family visit recently. Good location close to downtown - can take 160 Fwy which takes you directly to the heart of downtown. Large rooms. Breakfast not that great. Probably will not stay there again. Not much else to say - typical Courtyard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunabada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#11 of 82 in Sacramento
862 reviews
2.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
450 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo

Address: 1782 Tribute Rd, Sacramento, CA 95815-4402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $116 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Marriott
Sacramento Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing