We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cathedral”

Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament
Ranked #8 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Faribault, MN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cathedral”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful old church in the heart of Sacramento. The cantor was fabulous. The stained glass windows and statues are beautiful. There were several Mass time, one that fit well I to my busy schedule.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    49
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Reveran and Relavant”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

In today's world of fear and worry, this is a place feel peace and healing; Go in the afternoon when the light is bright and the windows glow. Light a candle for a soul now departed. Enjoy the mysterious feeling of soulful beauty and grace.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BigDogCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“One of the nicest churches we have seen”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We attended Christmas Eve services here. We have been in many churches in our travels including a number of cathedrals and basilicas. This cathedral, while ornate and splendid also feels very warm and inviting. The woodwork is wonderfully intricate without being dark and heavy like it is in so many large churches. If you are looking for a place to go to mass or just a tour of a lovely building this would be a very good choice. The service times are readily available on the internet and parking is easy in the garage right next door.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jaf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Church”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

It's very convenient to our hotel, walking distance and just two blocks away. Loved the paintings all over the church and the choir. It reminded me of the churches in Europe. There were some weird men in front of the stairs going up the front door of the Chuch. At first I was scared to cross but they did not bother us.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GidgetHercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Church.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The cathedral is centrally located downtown on "the Kay" - K Street . It is open to the public and has services I believe everyday. It is located just a block from the capitol - and the convention center. There are lots of nice restaurants nearby - always nice place for family services on Sunday and then near to other attractions for a family outting after church.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing