We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Church”

Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament
Ranked #7 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hercules
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

It's very convenient to our hotel, walking distance and just two blocks away. Loved the paintings all over the church and the choir. It reminded me of the churches in Europe. There were some weird men in front of the stairs going up the front door of the Chuch. At first I was scared to cross but they did not bother us.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GidgetHercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    49
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Church.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The cathedral is centrally located downtown on "the Kay" - K Street . It is open to the public and has services I believe everyday. It is located just a block from the capitol - and the convention center. There are lots of nice restaurants nearby - always nice place for family services on Sunday and then near to other attractions for a family outting after church.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingletown, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to worship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

When in Sacramento on business during Holy Days, the best place to go, IMO, is the Cathedral. The history of the building is fascinating and the decades of the faithful worshipping here permeate the walls and atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaandBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful and Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I felt like I walked into a cathedral in the middle of Italy when I entered. I was overcome by the beauty and stillness inside and was blessed to sit and reflect on my life during the week before Thanksgiving. Very clean inside and a nice place to take a break from the busy-ness of life and recharge your inner battery. I visited here twice on my three day stay in Sacramento.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blesdx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“lovely Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Folks visit Cathedrals around the world and miss those closest. This is a lovely and architecturally interesting Cathedral.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sabbaticalPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing