We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge mansion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leland Stanford Mansion State Historic Park

Leland Stanford Mansion State Historic Park
Ranked #11 of 168 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you have the time during your visit in Sacramento make sure to visit this mansion. Huge place talk about old money!!!!! It's free to get in and very well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kerim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    49
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Incredible Historic Place, Great Restoration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

One of the best things to do in Sacramento. Amazing restoration of the interior brings it back to its Victorian splendor. You can see Muybridge antique photographs of the very rooms you are in and compare them to the present day restoration. A lot of the original furniture was stored in the attic during the years the house was an orphanage. We really enjoyed it. Plus... it's free to get in!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank artistpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PT
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful mansion, worth a visit if you have the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I was told by the tour guides that this mansion was a must-see since I loved my tour of the governors mansion. It was free so I can't complain but I felt that the governors mansion was more interesting and the house was much more grand. Still, if you have a few extra hours and love grand old mansions and history than you will like this. Only open on certain days so pre plan.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelershopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed with Leland Stanford Mansion”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

On the outside, it looks like an old haunted house and is not, in my opinion, attractive. The docent whom we met when we entered was sort of strange and remained that way throughout the tour. The inside of the house is not particularly attractive, especially after having visited the Governor's Mansion, which is beautiful. The only room that I thought was lovely was the bedroom where foster children once lived. It was bright and clean and very nice, unlike the other rooms. The only positive thing I can say is that there was no charge to get in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleOxnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Must see this old historic mansion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fantastic tour. Great history of the Sacramento area. Learn about the founder and family of Stanford University. Great Docent tour lasting about 1 hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank galfromtahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leland Stanford Mansion State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Leland Stanford Mansion State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing