We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an adventure”
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 2,033 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Howe Ave.
Transit: Need a driver? Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.
Description: The Kitchen, a Selland Family Restaurant, serves a five-course prix fixe demonstration dinner menu based on a monthly seasonal framework that features the best and freshest ingredients available on a daily basis, mostly procured locally and regionally. Dinner service also includes an interactive intermission featuring chefs’ tasting stations, as well as a finale of fresh herb tea service and artisan coffee served with Dessert. The Kitchen Restaurant has earned every imaginable local and regional award along with an impressive list of national accolades, including the AAA Five Diamond Award five years running, a nod as a semi-finalist for the James Beard “Outstanding Restaurant” Award, the highest Zagat ratings, and honors from Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast, as well as inclusion in the Yelp Top 100 and the Open Table Top 100.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

If you like to watch the food channel, look no farther than the Kitchen. This place is the real deal. Every pairing is thoughtful, sometimes surprising and always delicious.

Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, Owner at The Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for the review Edward. My family and I appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 211 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have been here three times. The first time, I couldn't have been more pleased with all aspects of my dining experience. However, the second time it was merely a nice dinner. The last time, was probably closer to somewhere in the middle; better than nice, but not great. I haven't been back, since, but I would take a 'new' couple as the first time seems like the best. At least, that was the case for my husband and i. In a nut shell, if you have not been before, it is certainly worthwhile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kelly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, Owner at The Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Kelly - thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Wow...that's all i can say! Such a wonderful dining experience.

2  Thank Staci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, Owner at The Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Great to hear. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

50 people, one seating, one menu and all the amazing food your tummy can hold. This is more than just dinner, this is 2-1/2 hours of dinner-theater.The quality of the ingredients is amazing; nothing commonplace here. Everything is prepared to the customer's satisfaction -- without hesitation. If you are a foodie, ask to be seated at the counter which gives you an up close view of the food being prepared and plated. I recommend splitting the wine pairing because there is a lot of food and wine to be consumed. This is an experience, not a meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank FrogDogGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I can't say enough good things about the fabulous evening I had here with my wife and a friend. It's dinner, one seating, five courses over four hours or so. It's not cheap, but I've spent as much on a meal and not enjoyed it nearly as much. All 50 diners are seated at a low bar or a U shape configuration of tables around a very open demonstration kitchen. When you arrive, they tell you to make yourselves at home and they mean it. We wandered around the back prep kitchen, asked questions about preparation and ingredients, and generally explored the whole place.

When dinner starts, they prepare each course in front of you in the open kitchen, explain the ingredients and cooking techniques involved and then serve. If you want more, you ask for more. If you don't like what they're fixing, you ask for something else. And the food is absolutely fabulous! Each course was fresh and unique, often sourced from local farms or farmers' markets.

The service was impeccable. Drop a fork or a napkin and there's a new one at your side before you can blink an eye. Towards the end of the evening Randall Selland the owner stopped at our table to ask how we enjoyed it. My friend mentioned that her second buffalo filet didn't quite match the first. The owner was somewhat horrified and insisted that she take some home, so he went and packed up a half dozen filets in a box.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing