We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipity”
Review of The Waterboy

The Waterboy
Reserve with OpenTable
The Waterboy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 2,014 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 20th
Description: We feature a seasonal menu, inspired primarily by the beautiful cuisines of northern Italy and southern France. In addition, we offer a diverse wine list and a full bar featuring artisanal cocktails and aperitifs.
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We ALWAYS eat at Biba's when in Sacramento. Sadly, on a Sunday night it wasn't open, so we
took a chance and went to Waterboy. Not only were we pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, the drinks, the food, and the pleasant service, but as we were sipping our martinis who should walk in but Biba herself! Then we knew Waterboy was the place to eat. Now, we'll be unsure
of just which place to eat, but this time it was a REAL winner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ckgris44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    74
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, GREAT oysters”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A really good menu with a nice variety. The staff was very friendly and the service was really great. I was a bartender/waiter during my college years so (always secretly to myself) but I can be very critical of servers and this was the best service I have had in a really long time. If you are in town as a tourist just note that this place is a few miles opposite the water and Old Sacramento. I would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, Napa Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great food, great service, great location, great ambiance. Guido the waiter was fantastic. The food was very well prepared and presented. One would like to order everything on their menu--it looked so good!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaGardenInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We had a lovely evening here”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Waterboy is trendy without being snooty or intimidating. The staff were helpful in so many ways - we got chatty with our server who provided reading glasses and searched on a point of interest on the internet.

The cocktails, wine and food were all great. We both enjoyed everything: fritto misto and chicken liver pate to start, steak with asparagus and scallops, and the desserts: strawberry and rhubarb pie went down well but the salted caramel dessert a little rich after the other food and drink.

Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I ordered the special, Halibut, and it was so moist and flavorful. Cooked to perfection. The restaurant is light and airy, service was excellent. We would definitely go there again!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterboy also viewed

 

Been to The Waterboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing