We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite Mexican restaurant!”

El Novillero Restaurant
Ranked #93 of 1,994 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite Mexican restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been dining at this restaurant for over 30 years. The quality and large portions of the dishes has always been consistent. My favorite dishes are the "carnitas" special dinners and my husband loves their "chile colorado". We have been to several other mexican restaurants in town and always end up coming back here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toywoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been going to El Novillero for 40 years. It started as a little one table-juke Box dump into one of Sacramento's best liked places to eat great food. Every dish I have tried is excellent. The people working there are top notch and the owners have given a lot back to to city. Wonderful place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slinger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food but service a bit subpar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been visiting this incredible restaurant for over 20 years, starting when we lived in Sacramento. Now that we live in Oregon, we only get to visit on annual trips to California. This time my wife and daughter had shredded beef chimichangas, my son had the cheese quesadilla and I had the chile verde. As usual, the food was outstanding with huge portions of fresh food. But, a first for us was the fact that our server seemed to be behind the whole meal. He came back twice and each time noted that I was out of soda and said he would get me a refill but never brought one. Then, we had to ask for a take home container twice before getting one and then, the waiter seemed to disappear while we waited for our ticket. After 5 minutes we tired of waiting and went to the counter to pay. Outstanding food but the server needs a bit of training on how to manage his tables.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional food yes; quality near none.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have gotten higher quality food for a much better price from taco stands.

Very traditional food. Very yummy; when it not soggy.

Some of the wait staff could learn some manners and be a bit kinder.

Management is very polite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GorgeousGabiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This place never disappoints. The food is fantastic and you will always get excellent service. Try the flour chips. They are to die for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Novillero Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Novillero Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing