We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shrimp po'boy!”

Fat City Bar & Cafe
Ranked #47 of 1,995 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
567 reviews
471 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great shrimp po'boy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Went Saturday for lunch during the rail exhibit, and got the last Shrimp Po'boy on special. It was tasty, bun fresh, shrimp crisp, and right amount of seasoning and accompaniments. Fries were crisp, and tasty. Tried it with siracha, and wow! The white bean and sausage soup was also very good!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank george p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    132
    56
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I ordered a chicken pot pie for dinner and it was horrible. It looked that it was several days old. The chicken was hard and no "savory sauce" as they indicate on the menu. My dinner colleague ate a pasta dish with some unhealthy looking tomatoes. Atmosphere is good, service was good but the meal was not. Nothing remotely special about this place. There are few quality eating options in old town Sacramento. I won't be going down there in the future, I'll find another location to eat. Old town is worthy of a visit, just eat somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelinto25Cities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had the meatloaf sandwich and it was amazing. Good selection of draft beers and nice bar. Watched some playoff hockey and the other patrons were nice, as well as the bar staff. Too bad I got a parking ticket out front even though it was after hours. Fun part of downtown to bar hop in.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My review is some time in the coming, but I will still comment on their good food and service. I use to frequent this establishment when I worked in the area, but now have since relocated myself. Nonetheless, when I am back in this part of town I will eat here again. It is one of the better places to eat in Old Sacramento.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not Quite What We Expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The service was a bit slow and the prices on the burgers a bit high ($10) for the size and quality of the burgers. There were some unique and good selections of burgers (ex: cranberry mayonnaise). I ordered angel hair pasta which was reasonably priced ($13), the tomatoes were fresh and the dish was very tasty. Old Sacramento is still a very comfortable and charming place to go - it was disappointing to have to pay $5 to park for 2 hours, though. Especially since it was not real crowded. We had a coupon for one free meal - so it made the trip worth it. I feel kind of picky about all the prices, but in this economy, the value really has to be there to make it worth spending - eek! The building is beautifully decorated and has old charm and high ceilings. We thought was weird that there was no background music.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikaelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat City Bar & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fat City Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing