We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Food and Service”

Espanol Italian Restaurant
Ranked #164 of 2,013 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $13 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Food and Service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sunday night dinner at Espanol, Crowded--not too many young folks here. Enormous portions with enough leftovers for another 2 meals! Service is warm and efficient--alot of the new trendy places could take a hint from Espanol. Located on a busy street with limited parking. Make a reservation! They honored our request for a quiet table, and took us promptly at 6pm on a Sunday night. Primarily Italian-good sauce but a bit salty. I had eggplant parmesan dinner--that comes with all you can eat Minestrone soup (yes, seconds!), a nice salad, main dish, bread and a choice of ice cream or spumoni. Hadn't been there in years--still consistenly good. Not inexpensive--figure $20/per person without beer or wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lnwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first time and after being intrigued for years, had a very disappointing experience. We do a lot of fine dining, so I've tried to keep that from influencing this review. I got the bellini to start (it was just sparkling wine with grenadine and a cherry - yuck.) My sweetie's margaritas were good. I ordered the cheese ravioli with pesto ala carte. My sweetie ordered the chicken Luigi full dinner. I ate the salad that came with his dinner. The salad itself had many interesting items (salami, garbanzos, etc.,) but was ruined by the nasty (bottled?) Italian dressing. The minestrone was tasteless. The pesto on my ravioli was horrible - dried, not fresh basil was used. The chicken was tasty. With our $30 groupon, the final bill was still over $30. Way too much for such inferior food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sactokaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good traditional Italian food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food is authentic. For the price, you can't go wrong. Soup, salad and the main course for under 25$ is spetacular. The servers are friendly and they go out of their way to smile and engage in smalltalk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scottlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Italian comfort food”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Simple, yet delicious. Always crowded. Service fast, all be it a little grumpy. I think they want you to feel at home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old Style Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is an old style Italian Restaurant where good service and good food go hand in hand. My Aunt and Uncle used to go to this restaurant for years. It's been there since 1927 and my wife and I just recently went for the 2nd time in two months. Same waitress, same good food and same good service. You get a great meal which includes good minestrone soup, salad, bread, your entree and ice cream. If you just want the entree you can order ala carte. Don't forget to leave room for a canalone which they make on the premises. This is just one of those restaurants that has that feeling that you're one of the family and the food is great. Suggest you make a reservation on the weekend because they are always busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madmax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espanol Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Espanol Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing