We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Interesting Local History”

Sacramento History Museum
Ranked #14 of 170 things to do in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots of Interesting Local History”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had a great time at this museum in Old Sac. It's a small museum, but that way we were able to see everything. The photos and stories about the marshes, mud, and flooding were great to learn about. The "old" print shop will print a personalized headline on a special edition of the Sacramento Bee. There are some recreations of old rooms, and items from the area from about 100 years ago.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    55
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend the day”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

It is nice to get a sense of Sacramento. I did not know much of what they cover here. It would be nice to get more items displayed. I would have liked to seen more about farming.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“History buff heaven”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Everything and anything you ever wanted to know about Sacramnto and the local are are here. Could spend the entire day here and not see it all. Well worth the few dollars admittance that is charged. Will have to come back again to finish!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hook026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best for locals”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

sine Blue Diamond Growers has an attraction, the only reason for a visitor from out of town to visit this attraction is because it is less than a block from the California Railroad museum. if in another location, we would say skip it. they now have an Underground tour but sine we were not on it, we will not comment. People around the country and heard about the Sacramento Bee but the Bee exhibit was disappointing. the problem with the museum whicj oncce was City Hall is that once you've been to the big 4 attractions here, whatever exhibits they have are an afterthought. One thing we do remember is that the early miners were so desperate for female company, they would take just about anyone resembling a female- i guess transvestites counted. this is not a disappointing museum. it has a very good gift shop but it is best viewed by locals. what i could not figure out was whren did Sacramento City become Sacramento. the could have done a exhibit on two great buildings-the Elks Tower-their Empire State Building and their Nasonic Temple. i am sure both would have worked with them. They could have errected a model of the Memorial Audirium. a lot of local school groups go here so this was a wild card- if you are a local, it is woth visiting. but for an out of towner- we give it a thumbs down. but because of its proximity to the California Railroad Museum, it maybe woth seeing if the Underground Tour is worthwhile. we met a couple at the California Railroad Museum that enjoyed the Underground Tour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ira g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sacramento's History Museum”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Pretty amazing. We have lived in Sacramento for quite awhile and never went until recently. Definitely have to go again. Too many interesting exhibits...need more time. Located in 'Old Sacramento', so you make a day of it. rlw

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacramento History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sacramento History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing