We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, reasonably priced French cafe.”
Review of Cafe Rolle

Cafe Rolle
Ranked #62 of 2,013 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $1 - $20
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent, reasonably priced French cafe.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

WE were pleasantly surprised by how well a prepared and appetizing our lunch was. The restaurant is a little, unpretentious "hole in the wall" in trendy East Sacramento. The decor is simple -- a few French posters, etc. My friend had a sandwich on a delicious baguette, and I had two appetizers/small plates -- poached salmon with dill sauce and melted brie with French ham on baguette. Delicious! And just over $20 total for both of us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tourer_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great find thank you trip advisor!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Girls trip to Napa we drove through Sacramento at lunch time looked up a good restaurant & was NOT disappointed!! Amazing food & service it a beautiful part is Sacramento. Please bring these people your business you will love it here!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimwith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fresh, friendly, and delicious”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great small gem in East Sac. Everything is fresh, delicious, and stays true to the simple characteristics of french cuisine. Reasonable prices for a great selection. Feels homey and you always get greeted by the chef at some point during your meal!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a reasonable price in this small bistro-type restaurant”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is not a high-end "gastronomique" restaurant so don't expect any haute cuisine.

However, this restaurant serves excellent food. We went there for lunch on a Friday and arrived before 11:30am. There was no problem in getting a table.

It's a small restaurant but well decorated with old French posters. The tables are covered with a glass top and underneath the top are a nice selection of French post-cards from different areas of France. Nice touch.

We had the quiche which came with a large salad (see photos). It was very good. I would have preferred a slightly larger slice of quiche and a smaller salad but this was fine. The quiche was excellent. My husband had the ham and cheese croque-monsieur and it was also very good. It's not a traditional croque-monsieur because it was served on a baguette but the French bread was the best I've had in Sacramento...very crusty and soft inside.

For dessert, we had the chocolate mousse which was also excellent. Some people might prefer it a little lighter but we both liked it.

The owner of this restaurant is French and works right there in the restaurant, preparing the food. The service was professional and friendly without being too chummy.

We definitely will go back probably for diner next time.

Two minor negatives:
parking is limited, so you probably will have to park on the side street.
One has to walk all the way through the kitchen to go to the bathroom but it was very clean

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Unique Local Restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is run by a French Chef/Owner. It has a limited number of tables and is always busy. They don't take reservations, so come early.

They are open for lunch and dinner, and the menu ranges from salad and sandwiches to main meals.

I had an assiette, which consisted of salad, lentils, smoked and poached salmon. There are many other varieties.

Really like this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lwartow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rolle also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing