We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down hill”

The Old Spaghetti Factory
Ranked #86 of 2,004 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I can still remember the first few years I went to OSF back in the 80s. The salad greens were fresh, the bleu cheese dressing thick and creamy and the spumoni was the real deal. The entrees used to have distinctive flavors. Alas, all this is no more. Everything tastes like pale imitations of what they were back then. The spumoni is especially disappointing. It used to be one of the main reasons to go there, but I couldn't say that now.

Helpful?
Thank Shea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    90
    48
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent food, service and sights!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

this comes from my 11 year old daughter (I'm equally satisfied)...what I liked about it, the food, the service, and the train tracks that are outside the window. Long wait but worth it! Good environment for children and adults to have celebrations or family time.......My son and I have Celiac Disease and they offer gluten free pasta!!!! Can't say enough about that! And it's delicious!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My kiddos take me here for my birthday dinner the last 3 years and we always love to sit in the authentic cable car. The servings are generous, which is great since my twin boys have bottomless tummies!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FC919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the Atmosphere...chicken Parmesan tastes better not burnt!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The ambience was great...old train station. Loved looking around and enjoying the woodwork and and high ceilings. The service was great...everyone enjoyed their food which came quickly except for my chicken parm which was slightly burnt on the bottom. All else was great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UTTripDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I didn't expect a real authenic Italian meal here; however, I also didn't expect that my pasta would be so boring. I expected at least SOME spiciness, but, found none. Even the meatball was bland. I came based upon an advert in the local paper with special prices. Even at a discount, the pasta was not worth it. The only acceptable thing about the meal was the small loaf of bread supplied. the bread filled me up where the pasta couldn't. If you don't want a hint of spice or taste, you may actually find this place ok. But for me, I'd rather open up a can of Spaghetios. That also is not spicy, but, it has more taste.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhumdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Spaghetti Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Old Spaghetti Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing