We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub Grub and Bangers”

Streets of London Pub
Ranked #400 of 1,994 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pub Grub and Bangers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a blend of an English pub with dark walls and simple tables and a more modern sports bar. Big screen TV's are posted about and lots of yelling and cheering from the bar patrons adds to the noisy atmosphere. The traditional dart board is there and was even in use the night we visited. If you are looking for classics like fish and chips (with great malt vinegar) or bangers and mash, you've found the place. The food is ok, but pretty heavy and greasy. My husband and I both had the fish and chips which were ample portions. We did see some nice looking salads float by in the hands of the servers to neighboring tables so if you want something that's not fried or greasy give that a go. The high point of this pub is really the beers and ciders. This is one of the few places in Sacramento that you can get traditional English alcoholic ciders. They are really a great way to quench your thirst on a hot day. The Strong Bow on tap, an apple cider, is very refreshing. Wait staff was very nice although bit over worked as only one waitress and one server on duty during the dinner shift.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryLPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
295 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

nice little pub with wifi and very nice employees with good bar food

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It'll do.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The first time I came, it was on a weekday evening. There was a good crowd, but not packed and it was easy to find a table. Everyone ignored me, so I went up to the bartender and asked about service. He said someone come to me, but no one did. There were a few waitresses, but they consistently ignored me. Thank God, I brought something to read. Eventually, the bartender walked over to my table and took my order. The clientele were okay: some older couples, some younger people but no one loud or obnoxious.

The second time I came was on a Sunday afternoon. Much fewer people, and I did get pretty good service.

I've sampled their steak pie, shepherd's pie, 4 beers (ales, actually) and a salad. I always look forward to British pub food, and am usually disappointed. There's a reason that the English are not known for their cuisine.

The shepherd's pie was okay, but at least 80% potato (the rest was ground beef and a few carrots, hence my decision to get a salad, too). Since the the shepherd's pie was almost all potato, why does it come with french fries (which weren't even very good -- I think it was the oil they used)?!? It should have come with the salad. The salad was spring greens (good), some canned corn kernels, a decent amount of fresh mushroom, and an indecent amount of tomato. (The tomato was diced into pieces only slightly larger than corn kernels and, all together, probably equaled one slice of tomato.) The balsamic vinegar dressing was good.

Speaking of vinegar, it was nice to have malt vinegar on the tables to go with the fries (British style), plus HP Steak Sauce (to give some taste to the shepherd's pie), along with ketchup.

The steak pie (also served with fries) was better, but again, I'd prefer a salad than the fries, since the pie also has a rich crust (upper and lower) and no vegetables.

Lastly, the beer selection was a plus -- ales, porters, etc.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank equalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

This place was a great place to people watch. There is such a diverse crowd, to include a Marilyn Manson look-alike! Staff is very friendly. Good beers. Food is alright-large portions and it definitely fills you up. Definitely stop by for a beer and see the local flavor of Sacramento!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small, cozy, and great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I've been coming here off and on for years, first time I've thought of reviewing the place. First of all, if your looking for excellent food and service, its a Pub. It's not a 5 star restaurant so don't expect it. They do have really good English style food and really cold beer. Nice clean glasses and very cozy atmosphere, especially if its raining and the fire place is going. It's very small place but it makes the enviroment feel homey. A lot of locals come here and can be intimidating but relax, they are friendly and anybody will strike up a convo with you if you want. I recommend renting out the outdoor patio for small private parties or groups. They can even do food for you as well. It's a great place to watch English soccer matches and meet some local firemen.... ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morlannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streets of London Pub also viewed

 

Been to Streets of London Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing