We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now this is Italian!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,983 Restaurants in Sacramento
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4th Street
Transit: Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Now this is Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is my favorite Italian restaurant. I am italian so I am hard to please but here I am always pleased. The food is always top notch and the taste is 100% Italian. the wine pairings just blow the food out of the water. If you want good "Real" Italian food, make this a stop.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    63
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
196 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Second visit just as good as the first.We came with elderly parents (90th birthday celebration!) and the staff was very accomodating with storing a walker and making sure we didn't have to walk far to our booth.

The pork tenderloin with figs (evening's special) was very good - the pork was thin and tender. The veggies were cooked perfectly. One in the party ordered the Linguine Mare Chiaro with clams, mussels, prawns and scallops and just about licked the plate clean it was so good. Another order the veal and loved it - flavorful and very tender.

We shared a bottle of the Sangiovese wine which was very smooth and complimented all of our entrees.

The meal ended with a candle in scoop of hazelnut gelato for the birthday boy! The sorbets were also tasty and a nice way to cleanse the palate after such a delicious meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SmallWonderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Gluten Free noodles available”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

They have gluten free noodles and a great ambience, great food. I love this place. Drinks were very good as well.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoriGingery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Consistently excellent food and service in the most beautiful dining room in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The pastas are delicious. Try the capelacci de zucca. Desserts also amazing/my favorite is the zabaglione. Very well run/excellent management and servers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Familyman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Once again we are not disappointed with Il Fornaio. There were five of us dining and each entree was very tasty. I had the beet salad which is excellent. The Cannelloni is also very tasty. The chicken and spinach filling is seasoned just right. We love coming here as the food is great, service is outstanding and it is very cozy sitting out in the garden outside dining. Jeff was our server and he was the best, he took the time to explain when we had questio9ns and made sure we were well taken care of.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LGuerrieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing