We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox & Goose

Fox & Goose
Ranked #49 of 1,983 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This has been a go to staple for me for 30+ years. The only thing that keeps me from going more often is the wait (which they handle very well). My wife and I stopped by for breakfast and, after about a 10 minute wait, were seated at what is probably the worst table. However, we were happy to be seated and didn't mind the seating at all (we were in the corner of the bar). I had the corned beef hash which is awesome and Deb had a veggie omelet which was also good. This is just a classic pub with good British offerings prepared well. The bloody and mimosa didn't hurt either :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    74
    23
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

In Davis/Sacremento for my son's soccer tournament, and expecting crummy/non-veggie food in the area. This place is a gem. Good beer (not only good English beer, but also a couple of local beers), but outstanding options for vegetarians. We had the nut burger, the "TLT" (tempeh, lettuce, tomato), and veggie pasty. All were excellent. Service was great. The space is also beautiful, and some hip and interesting artsy types around. This should not be missed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went there this morning and everything was great. The scone with Devonshire cream was very good. Also, I like that you can get fruit instead of breakfast potatoes.

If I could improve the place I would add a traditional British breakfast with beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, and black pudding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank climberjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Guiness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

When it is cold and rainy in March and the "Green" is calling to my blood, this is where I go when I want my dark beer and some bangers and mash.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FC919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dinner Before the Theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were going to a show across the street at the New Helvetia Theater. We decided to have dinner at the Fox and Goose. We had fish and chips which was very good. The service was good and the waitress was very nice and cheerful. We will go back when New Helvetia has it's next show.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weyesowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Goose also viewed

 

Been to Fox & Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing