We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Sacramento
Post
Inbox
Search

“Just ok”

Railroad Fish & Chips
Order Online
Ranked #14 of 70 Quick Bites in Sacramento
Cuisines: Fast Food
Description: Front and K Streets in Old Sacramento
Restaurant details
Description: Front and K Streets in Old Sacramento
Reviewed October 19, 2019 via mobile

Girlfriend had the clam strips and I had calamari with garlic fries everything was good but not great. Would probably go back though.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank XtremeDiesel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 81 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2019

Although busy, this small place is pretty bare with a few tables inside and a few outside. Can't drink beer outside so that limits the patron to the interior which is not particularly pleasant. Tood crowded with the cook right behind you and the food could be a lot better. Family run and they try but it's too much for a couple of people to handle.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank tanobongiorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Made the decision to eat here while in the old town -no regrets. The battered fish was crunchy although the fish inside was very then. The chips were delicious and the meal was served with tartare sauce and other sauces including tomatoe sauce was available to help yourself. We also had the clam chowder in the bread basket and it was also very tasty. We were here on a Tuesday and it was not very busy so if it was more crowded that could be the reason for the other average reviews.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sharpeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

We were headed to the Railroad museum and our google for a nearby restaurant led us to Railroad Fish & Chips. It is highly rated by TripAdvisor; I have trouble with the high recommendation.

First, recognize that you wait in line to order, order your food and pay before finding your table. The extensive menu is on the board on the wall. Your food is brought to you when prepared. Most of the tables are picnic tables in the shade, but you bus your own table.

My wife had the fish & chips, which was a better choice than my oysters & chips. The oysters could have been left in the fryer a few more seconds. The food was hot but there was nothing special about the fries.

RFC is easy to find, although the parking spots on this street in Old Sacramento are certainly as small as any I’ve ever seen. There are other shops and restaurants in the area, in addition to the museum.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank NXTTRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

The place was well within walking distance from the museum so we gave it a try. The seating inside is limited but there are plenty of tables outside.
We split an order of fish & chips as it seemed like enough to satisfy the two of us.
The place is rather rustic and the prices are good.
Enjoy

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railroad Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Sacramento, CA
 

Been to Railroad Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing