We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical fish & chips, but a rather large menu”

Railroad Fish & Chips
Ranked #8 of 44 Quick Bites in Sacramento
Cuisines: Fast Food
Description: Front and K Streets in Old Sacramento
Restaurant details
Description: Front and K Streets in Old Sacramento
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place was well within walking distance from the museum so we gave it a try. The seating inside is limited but there are plenty of tables outside.
We split an order of fish & chips as it seemed like enough to satisfy the two of us.
The place is rather rustic and the prices are good.
Enjoy

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2019

Went here based on all the reviews. We got fish and chips. For $11.99 I would think a drink came with it but no. All they had are canned soda or bottles of water for purchase. Fish was crunchy outside but one of 3 of both of our 3 pieces was mushy inside. Nothing noteworthy and kind of wish we ate somewhere else as this was our only stop to eat in Sacramento. Also it isn’t on the water and all you can see is a patch of grass or one of the parked trains. Based on the map I guess I thought it would be on the water.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Nicemom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

I've passed by this place many times and finally decided to try their fish & chips on a Tuesday evening around 7 pm. The fish was better than most places. The chips (fries) were average. I sat at a table outside to enjoy the cool breeze. There are panhandlers, and I was asked for money just as I sat down. There's limited seating inside. Servers are friendly.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonpan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

We have eaten here probably once a year for the pass few years. Our experience has been that this is a great place for fish & chips. This time was different. Both the fish and the chips were limp. Normally the fish is crisp and almost too hot to eat. This time it was hot but not the good crunchy crisp. Same with the fries. Normally they pass the still good to eat when cold test but this time there was no crisp to the fries. Tartar sauce lacked flavor.

Given our past history with Railroad Fish & Chips we will give them another try in hopes that this was just a bad day and not the new normal.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank gregorys247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

These fish were breaded and cooked to perfection. The chips were just French fries. The location is part of an old railroad depot so limited seating inside but nice picnic type tables on the front porch. The couple running the restaurant were so nice. Like all fried food - a little greasy but not too bad due to the quick fry method. Excellent taste!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unlock traveler reviews
Read more reviews from travelers who've been to Railroad Fish & Chips.
Connect with: FacebookGoogle

Travelers who viewed Railroad Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Sacramento, CA
 

Been to Railroad Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing