We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmmm”

Railroad Fish & Chips
Ranked #179 of 2,003 Restaurants in Sacramento
Cuisines: Fast Food
Description: Front and K Streets in Old Sacramento
Restaurant details
Description: Front and K Streets in Old Sacramento
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

I'm a connoisseur of fish and chips and these fit up into the top 5. Especially in the U.S..
The batter was good and not too thick...The cops were not great but ok. They were regular fries. Also...They should get real white malt vinegar rather than brown..eww.
The food was hot...good...And quick.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Stharp48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Like it says, fish & chips at the railroad”
Reviewed September 27, 2016

Stop here for a quick bite if you are out and about in Old Sacramento. Food is quickly prepared and is reasonable priced. Nothing fancy about this place -- I didn't feel underdressed having just walked up in T-shirt and running shorts. The staff was very friendly. Menu has pictures of each dish, mostly fried foods. Beverages are a variety of bottled items in the fridge, but included several good choices for a hot day.

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good for a late night snack”
Reviewed August 1, 2016

Tiny establishment for getting a quick bite to eat, the fish and chips were great, fills up quickly so you might have to stand outside to eat, not a big deal since it's not fork and knife type of food.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Richie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Railroad Fish & Chips was a great find! We ordered fish & chips, clam strips & chips, clam chowder, and the garden salad. The fish was so flaky and really nice. The clam strips were not chewy at all but really tender. Everyone loved the clam chowder. Depending on how you like your chowder, it was thinner than we usually have. It was good, though. The garden salad was surprisingly fresh and very good. The lemonade was freshly made and very tasty.

The prices were very reasonable, and the portions were very generous. Two people could share the fish & chips. The service was excellent. When in the area again, I will definitely stop by.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank LoveSummerRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed June 28, 2016

We came here based on the reviews. They were right. It doesn't look like much, but the food was great and the lemonade was too. You have to eat inside if you want to drink alcohol. We had the fish tacos and they were great. We are used to great fish tacos (san diego), so we have high standards...

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank APChemistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railroad Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Railroad Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing