We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed February 1, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 2,184 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Phreddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin D, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Excellent room, good service, quick shuttle, good dinner suggestions from the desk, friendly driver.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank handswinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin D, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the kind words. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Martin Donnelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Want2seeall
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin D, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hawthorn, because unlike the other budget hotels in this area, it had adequate customer reviews, but unfortunately this was one of the worst experiences of my life. We arrived late on Friday after a long drive from Los Angeles. We stood in line while 3 men threatened the check-in attendant, demanding they be put on the phone with a manager, and later, that he fight them. A woman stood by, occasionally interjecting abuse. Apparently she had moved out three days earlier and had left her stuff behind and was upset that the hotel had moved it to storage and wouldn't return it immediately. The attendant explained that he couldn't access the storage facility until the manager returned on Monday. They repeatedly called him highly offensive names and said they would hurt him. I thought they were going to pull weapons. A woman finally came over to check us in, and we were relieved to leave the lobby. On the way to our room, my husband was offered a prostitute by a man with two women on his arms. We had to ask two men smoking a crack pipe to let us up the stairs to our room. When we finally got to the room, the key wouldn't work. I nearly burst into tears at the thought of having to go back through this criminal war zone and into the lobby. We went back through the drug users and prostitutes and returned to the lobby to find the police had been called. I waited out in the car and sent my husband in. He came back with the key and we returned back to the room. We put the key in the lock and then a knock came from within. It turns out our room was already being used by prostitutes. Presumably someone had kept an old key or security had let them in for a fee or something. I called the front desk and they apologized and said they only had another room in a different building. They said they would send someone up with a key. It is now nearly midnight. The new building has the security doors propped open, which doesn't seem to be a good sign. We get over to the other room and pace nervously, not knowing what to expect. Finally, an attendant arrives with a key and we get into the room. But, of course, after all this, I don't really trust that the room hasn't been "used" and our safety felt seriously in jeopardy. We put every lock on and moved furniture in front of the door, but I could still barely sleep as I was just disgusted with the idea of the dirty sheets and didn't feel safe. I cannot believe we had to pay for this terrifying experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
3  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin D, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

I apologize for the horrible experience you encountered as you attempted to check in to the Hawthorn Suites. I am dismayed that you witnessed the interaction at the front desk, which was intimidating and frightening in equal measures, followed by the subsequent interaction with the persons in the parking lot, before going to the already occupied room that my staff sent you to.

It is unfortunate that all guests, regardless of the establishment, do not conduct themselves in a dignified, respectful manner, and I am relieved that my staff remained calm and had the presence of mind to call the Sacramento Police to assist in removing the individuals from the property.

Having experienced the loud, aggressive and threatening individuals as you attempted to check-in, we added insult to injury by sending you to the wrong room, one that was already occupied. Your comments, "Presumably someone had kept an old key or security had let them in for a fee or something", and "the idea of the dirty sheets", are wide of the mark but understandable having come upon the episode at the front desk minutes earlier.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the events of that evening at my hotel.

Sincerely,

Martin Donnelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martin D, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 82 in Sacramento
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 82 in Sacramento
511 reviews
1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Arden Way
3 mi away
EconoLodge Sacramento North
EconoLodge Sacramento North
#55 of 82 in Sacramento
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#41 of 82 in Sacramento
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento

Address: 321 Bercut Dr, Sacramento, CA 95811-0103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $86 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento 2.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing