We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location was excellent, room was clean. staff friendly...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed March 5, 2013

location was excellent, room was clean. staff friendly. Breakfast was delicious
the only things that need to be changed would be to have a TV in the bedroom. the shampoo was a small bottle and not enough for the both of us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Armando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,912 - 1,918 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

and being in my profession I travel across country numerous times a year I also travel within the states numerous times a month , my experience with this venue was just awesome. The staff was professional and courteous, Rooms were clean, and they made my day have pleasant as possible

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Ann Rene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Ismael B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Carol L T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in Feb 2013 in a two bedroom suite.

Our suite, which was located on the upper floor of the Cedar building at the rear of the hotel complex, comprised of two separate bedrooms and a large room which was separated at one end into a lounge area and a kitchen area at the other end.

Each bedroom had its own:-
*En-suite bathroom, toilet and large vanity area with 6ft (approx.) mirror, worktop and small sink.
*Queen size double bed with extremely comfy mattress.
*two bedside cabinets and lamps.
*Wardrobe.
*Telephone, television and digital alarm clock.
*Hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

The lounge area contained:-
*Two armchairs with foot stools
*Chaise longue (although this mysteriously changed to a two-seater sofa half way through our stay:-) )
*Television and telephone
*Coffee table and side table, floor lamp
*Writing desk and computer chair.

The kitchen contained:
*A large fridge/freezer.
*Full size electric cooker with four plates and an oven.
*Microwave.
*Toaster.
*Dishwasher.
*There was only a minimal amount of cutlery and crockery and no oven trays although there was a full set of saucepans.

The approximate size of each bedroom was about 12ft wide by 12ft long.
The lounge/kitchen area was about 11ft wide x 24ft long
Please note the above sizes are from memory and also guessed from the photos I took.

The room was extremely clean, no mold in the bathroom, no hairs, no untoward smells, odd stains, no nothing anywhere that we could find, it was quite simply a very clean room and was kept that way all throughout our stay. The room was cleaned daily and our bedding, as far as we could tell, was changed 3 times during our 10 night stay. Clean towels were provided virtually every day and there were more than enough towels provided for four people.

Although the room was clean, it was showing signs of wear and tear. A few cracks in the floor tiles in the bathroom, kitchen cabinet doors that weren't perfectly aligned anymore, the arm of the computer chair was broken. However, the paintwork on the walls was in perfect condition, no marks, scuffs or cracks (possibly repainted in the last couple of years). The carpet, although it was obviously a few years old, was clean, not stained nor threadbare.
And there were plenty of power sockets. The telly also had an audio/video lead to connect to a laptop.

Breakfast, as has already been mentioned in other reviews, was very good and contained a wide selection to eat.

Staff were friendly and tried, at least, to be helpful. We did have a problem with one toilet not flushing properly which we mentioned to the desk staff who said they get someone to look at it, it was never fixed whilst we were there. We were also unable to call any UK telephone number from the room phone. A very friendly member of staff did come up and try to sort it out, and really did try his best, but in the end he couldn't sort it and we found ourselves with no telephone access to the UK which anyone else staying here from outside the US should be aware of.

There is free WiFi in the hotel and I did a speed-test which gave a download speed of about 4Mb/s. The WiFi signal strength was excellent even when we were right at the back of the hotel and on the highest floor.

Every Wednesday the hotel provides a complimentary evening meal in the hotels main lounge/breakfast area. It is free to any hotel guest but is only a basic set menu. The two Wednesdays we were there the menu was just enchiladas, salads, and a few extras. But it’s a free meal and it saved us a little money :-)

There is also a laundry in the hotel although the machines are old and not marked with the cost of a wash which I think this was $4 a time, from memory, and $1 for the dryer. If you use the dryers make sure you clean out the removable filter before hand. There is a sign asking people to do so but from the state of the filter it would appear no one does.

There is a large car park that goes all round the hotel. We parked our car at the rear of the hotel and felt it was quite safe to do so. We also didn't have any problems finding a parking space.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The suite was much bigger than any other two bedroom suite we have stayed in. It was extremely clean and well equipped, with the exception of needing an oven tray or two! It was within 30 minutes walking distance of Old Sacramento, and 40 minutes from Downtown, along the Sacramento River bike trail. We felt perfectly safe walking along this lovely river side walk during the day, there are many cyclists and other walkers and picnickers, however, the section underneath the I5 freeway bridge is used by two or three homeless people so I wouldn't want to go down there at night, but it is quite safe during day time.

Our only complaint was that the hotel was a timber built complex with wooden floors and thin walls. 9 nights of our stay were perfectly quiet but for one night we had a very noisy family in the room next door with young kids. Kids run around, bang doors and shout, that’s what they do, but boy, did we hear every bit of it. The floor lamp vibrated and we had to turn the telly up to hear it. I pity whoever was in the room below! Someone came and banged on our door thinking it was us but eventually someone complained directly to them and it quieted down and the family was gone next day.

Overall we felt the hotel is good and at the price we paid it was an absolute bargain. Yes there are a few problems, no international calls to the UK, worn furniture, thin walls, but you get what you pay for and overall we felt it was worth it and the pros (room size, cleanliness, location, staff friendliness, breakfast, complimentary dinner, etc) outweighed the cons.

If you do book a room here then note that rooms 1101 to 1124(?) in the Ash building are on the ground floor in a corridor leading off the main reception, bar and breakfast areas.
In the Cedar and Birch buildings, even numbered rooms face the swimming pool.

There is gas station next door.
There is a Denny’s Diner opposite and a McDonalds nearby but there is a little restaurant/bar that we went to twice and enjoyed both times and that’s Grill Master’s
Steak House. They do steaks, of course, but also have a good selection of fish dishes. The atmosphere was good and it was quiet and if you ask at the hotel reception they will give you a 10% discount voucher for both Grill Masters or Denny’s

When we read the reviews here before booking the hotel we saw there were some people who had bad experiences so there is always a risk. But.....We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely take the risk to stay here again on our next visit to California but would be wary of booking a suite that was not on the top floor just in case we had children running around above!

Room Tip: If you do book a room here then note that rooms 1101 to 1124(?) in the Ash building are on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaylee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is nice and the room was clean and the bed was comfortable and the staff was courteous.Breakfast was great and so was the happy hour.
The only problem that was not resolved was the television despite two visits by maintenance workers. The remote needed reprogramming

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Thomas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed coming and going on vacation travel. 1st stay mostly slept 2nd stay tried the jacuzzi worked maybe 5 min. Called desk.they could not hear me(pool phone) waved down employe 10 min. Later matintanance came got jacuzzi working.just felt grimy had to wash dishes before using top of fridge filthy.breakfast best part of stay yet was better first stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 82 in Sacramento
509 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 82 in Sacramento
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown Sacramento
0.2 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento

Address: 321 Bercut Dr, Sacramento, CA 95811-0103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range: $90 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento 2.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing